WEATHER »

News Features

Muni Golf Green Maintenance Privatized

Council votes to contract 11 positions to save $200,000 a year. Read story.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Oil by Train Opposed

Resistance grows against Nipomo refinery's bid to add rail transport. Read story.

Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Mixed Messages on Diablo Canyon

PG&E report claims earthquake resilience; Sen. Boxer reveals steam generator study flawed. Read story.

Tuesday, March 10, 2015

How to Reduce Latino Diabetes?

A summit addresses disproportionally high rates in Santa Barbara and beyond. Read story.

Monday, March 9, 2015

Sneak Peek at Sea Center Remodel

Big fish moved to bigger ponds; new shark cove and tide pool exhibit unveiled. Read story.

Monday, March 9, 2015

All Hell Breaks Loose in Sex Abuse Lawsuit

Carpinteria church and Presbytery of Santa Barbara accused of protecting offenders and neglecting victims for many years. Read story.

Sunday, March 8, 2015

Monica Spear Leaving Girls Inc.

The beloved director of the popular nonprofit steps down after 20 years. Read story.

Friday, March 6, 2015

Good Laws Make Good SBCC Neighbors

Ideas for noise ordinance, new class schedule come from task force meetings. Read story.

Thursday, March 5, 2015

Anti-Nuke Activist Drops Knowledge Bombs

Dr. Helen Caldicott featured for Nuclear Age Peace Foundation's annual lecture. Read story.

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Victims' Parents Sue Sheriff, Landlord Over Isla Vista Murders

Claim welfare check could have prevented killings, apartment managers knew of Rodger's violent behavior. Read story.

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Female Farmworkers Unite

Líderes Campesinas creates a Santa Barbara County chapter to push for better working conditions. Read story.

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Police Make Arrest in Eastside Murder Case

Police say Enson Lopez brutally killed Ian Nicholas after multiple confrontations. Read story.

Monday, March 2, 2015

No Baby Steps for District Elections

Mad scramble to draw lines for new boundaries. Read story.

Sunday, March 1, 2015

District Elections Lawsuit Could Hit Santa Maria

Activists all but promise legal action in the wake of the Santa Barbara decision. Read story.

Saturday, February 28, 2015

Isla Vista: Divide and Conquer?

Opinions split over self-governance options. Read story.

Thursday, February 26, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: