WEATHER »

Foodie News

Gastronomy, To Go

Are you what you eat?: Foodies can find out on this weekend’s Farm to Fork Tour, a bus tour to three South County farms for hands-on lessons in area agriculture. Read story.

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Eat, Drink, and Be Charitable

Share Our Strength serves up the annual Taste of the Nation. Read story.

Friday, May 27, 2011

’Q ’Em Up Once Again

Call for entries for The Independent’s second Sizzling Summer BBQ Contest Read story.

Originally published 1:00 p.m., May 16, 2011
Updated 2:51 p.m., May 31, 2011

Fresco Café Comes to the Valley

Casual dining, healthful ingredients, and an eclectic California style. Read story.

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Opal Hopes to Help

Opal restaurant Hosts Fundraiser to Aid Japanese on April 17. Read story.

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Farm to Fork Series

Agricultural education campaign series aims to increase awareness about farming and ranching in S.B. County. Read story.

Monday, March 21, 2011

Crowning Santa Barbara’s Kings or Queens of Pastry

Local amateurs and pros battle for dessert title. Read story.

Friday, March 18, 2011

Beale’s Real Winter Deal

Pascale Beale publishes new cookbook, guest chefs at SpiritLand Read story.

Sunday, March 13, 2011

Petrini’s Crowns a Winner

Tri-tip and mushroom linguine wins spot on menu at grand reopening in Goleta. Read story.

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Mmm … Pancakes

Area IHOPs will serve free pancakes on National Pancake Day to raise funds for the Children’s Miracle Network. Read story.

Monday, February 28, 2011

Whole Foods Adopts Animal Welfare Rating System

Global Animal Partnership supplies ratings for chicken, pork, beef Read story.

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Avant Wants You to Want It

The tasting and tapas spot introduces new chef and manager. Read story.

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Heart-ing Truffles and Vino

SB Winery and Jessica Foster combine to offer Valentine's Day weekend tasting. Read story.

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Meals for a Mere $20.11

16 Santa Ynez Valley spots offer discounts as part of CA Restaurant Month. Read story.

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Red on Green

McGrath Farms grows delicious Ruby Streaks mustard greens. Read story.

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Multicultural Craft Program: Japan

Join us for the first session of our multicultural craft ... Read More