Wine & Spirits

Armada Wine Bar’s Old World Treats

Tasting the world at Santa Barbara’s hidden yet happening wine & beer merchant. Read story.

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Fun with Cabernet Franc

Rundown of recent Santa Barbara County bottlings of the Bordeaux grape and Loire star. Read story.

Thursday, June 11, 2015

Toasting 40 Years of Brander Vineyard

Santa Ynez Valley’s sauvignon blanc stalwart Fred Brander plants for future on strengths of the past. Read story.

Thursday, May 28, 2015

Jump-Starting Star Lane Vineyard

Winemaker Tyler Thomas reenergizes breathtaking Happy Canyon property and focuses ambitious winery’s goals. Read story.

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

The Wild Wine Harvest of ’95

Old vines, Saucelito Canyon, and Santa Barbara’s Mountain Drive converge in Sean Christopher Weir’s memoir The Mad Crush. Read story.

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

The Wicked Wine Grapes of Rancho Salsipuedes

Bentrock and Radian vineyards thrive on the challenging western edge of the Sta. Rita Hills. Read story.

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Women Winemakers Thrive in Santa Barbara

Last month’s Los Alamos gathering shows off the region’s female clout. Read story.

Friday, April 17, 2015

Understanding Sustainable Wine Standards

Three Santa Barbara County wineries exploring eco-minded wine. Read story.

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

New Cult on the Block: Levo Wines

A look at the stylish, “honest” wines of 25-year-old Bret Urness. Read story.

Thursday, April 9, 2015

Tasting Wines from Santa Barbara Highlands

How the Cuyama Valley could be its own grape-growing appellation. Read story.

Thursday, April 9, 2015

Garagiste Winemakers Unite in Solvang

Small producers gather to pour their rare wines during a weekend of tasting events. Read story.

Thursday, March 26, 2015

Booker Winemaker Dinner at Villa

Renowned Paso Robles producer pours with pairings at Anacapa Street wine bar. Read story.

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Art on Wheels Paints Santa Barbara Wine Country

Christi Schaeffer’s mobile painting party teaches landscape techniques to all levels. Read story.

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Let Ian Cutler Sell Booze?

The Santa Barbara distiller and dozens of other craft liquor makers would benefit if proposed state law passes. Read story.

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Historic Santa Barbara Wine Country Video

Antonio Gardella and Dennis Aubrey’s one and only “Vintage Journeys” episode. Read story.

Saturday, March 14, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: