WEATHER »

Focus on Fracking

Our collection of articles, opinions, press releases, and more related to hydraulic fracturing in Santa Barbara County and California.

Fracking Fracas in Court

Environmental law group sues federal agency over S.B. Channel drilling permits. Read story.

Thursday, December 4, 2014

P-ing Up a Rope?

County looks to soften legal blow from fracking ban. Read story.

Thursday, July 31, 2014

State Seeks Public Input on Oil and Gas Well Stimulation

New extraction regulation hearings start in Santa Maria on Tuesday and then move across the state. Read story.

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

High-Intensity Oil-Extraction Ban Headed to Ballot

Environmentalists and oil industry gear up for major battle ahead of November election. Read story.

Saturday, June 14, 2014

Less Oil in Monterey Shale Than Expected

Energy reps and anti-fracking activists examine impacts of new study. Read story.

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Energy Workers and Reps Blast Anti-Fracking Effort

Enviro leaders and organizations have been conspicuously silent on the issue. Read story.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Fracking Freak-Out Justified?

Enviros and industry reps trade jabs at coastal protection hearing. Read story.

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Enviro Group Kicks Off Fracking Ban Effort

Saturday morning marked the kickoff of an environmental group’s campaign to ban fracking, well stimulation, and other “high-intensity” extraction techniques on unincorporated county land. Read story.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

EPA to Require Offshore Fracking Discharge Reports

The rule, which goes into effect in March, will affect Santa Barbara Channel rigs; plus more fracking news. Read story.

Thursday, January 16, 2014

More Fuss Over Fracking

State proposes fracking rules; D.C. Republicans want less oversight. Read story.

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Reacting to California's Proposed Fracking Rules

Enviros say draft regulations don't protect public enough; oil industry sees “balance.” Read story.

Friday, November 15, 2013

Fracking in the Los Padres

The steady stream of concerns about hydraulic fracturing, or “fracking,” in California hit close to home again this week, as the nonprofit advocacy group Los Padres ForestWatch called attention to the controversial oil extraction practice being used on wells in the Sespe Oil Field, which is in the Los Padres National Forest just north of Fillmore in Ventura County. Read story.

Thursday, October 31, 2013

EDC Releases Offshore Fracking Report

Identifies 15 known occurrences, with more pending approval. Read story.

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

What Is Offshore Fracking?

With enviros now calling for deeper reviews, the feds explain how offshore process differs from onshore. Read story.

Thursday, August 22, 2013

All Fracked Up

Politicians want Channel drilling techniques investigated, but who's in charge? Read story.

Thursday, August 15, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: