WEATHER »

independent.com/goleta

Goletans Form Anti-Development Coalition

The Shelby Foothills Coalition resists proposed 60 new homes at Shelby Ranch. Read story.

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Goleta's Foothill Views Disappearing Right Before Our Eyes

Mountains, ocean, and skies in danger of being lost, too. Read story.

Sunday, April 17, 2016

Who Governs Goleta?

A whole network other than the City Council make decisions and are up for election in November. Read story.

Sunday, March 20, 2016

Hollister Village to Get 33 New Apartments?

Developer submits proposal to Goleta leaders. Read story.

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

UCSB Researchers Studying El Niño Sea Level Rise

Their data will be used for future coastal planning. Read story.

Monday, March 7, 2016

Working Together

Solving the problem of the proposed CHP location is democracy in action Read story.

Sunday, February 14, 2016

Goleta's City Council and Growth

Councilmembers control the General Plan and appoint those who implement it. Read story.

Monday, January 18, 2016

Controlling the Temperature

What we all can do to alleviate climate change. Read story.

Thursday, December 31, 2015

Wildlife Care Network Settles into New Home

Volunteer helpers needed to answer 10,000 calls a year for information and assistance with orphaned and injured wild animals. Read story.

Monday, November 16, 2015

Goleta’s Boom Times Keep Booming

The 175-unit Old Town Village project wins a final — but split — approval. Read story.

Wednesday, October 21, 2015

Public Safety in Goleta

A talk with retired Superior Court judge George Eskin on reducing crime and policing costs. Read story.

Sunday, October 18, 2015

Goleta Takes Small Step Toward Skate Plaza

But proponents say the 5,000-square-foot design is too small. Read story.

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Local Control over Goleta Growth

A look at CHP location, oil trains, airport, and housing issues and what Goleta can do about them. Read story.

Monday, September 21, 2015

Drought Fight Stiffens in Goleta

As Cachuma dries out, 87,000 Goleta Water District customers affected. Read story.

Monday, August 31, 2015

Neighborhood Opposes Proposed CHP Facility

A conversation with Westside Goleta Coalition's Robert Miller. Read story.

Monday, July 20, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: