WEATHER »

independent.com/goleta

Report Analyzes Goleta Gas-Out

Facts made public on hydrogen sulfide spill that sickened many in October. Read story.

Saturday, January 28, 2017

City Attorney and Chief Planner Leave Goleta

Beginning of new year marked by top personnel changeover. Read story.

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Goleta Slough Reaches the Sea

Rain and tides breach mouth of slough. Read story.

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Mouth of Goleta Slough Gets 'Groomed'

Technique should aid in breach during week's high-water events. Read story.

Saturday, January 7, 2017

Restoring a Prize Goleta Valley Habitat

Cris Sandoval's journey to save snowy plovers instills respect for people and wildlife. Read story.

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Which Way Goleta?

Council election will decide the city’s direction, slower development or more of the same. Read story.

Monday, October 17, 2016

Great Growth, Bad Vibes in Goleta

City's challenges has five council contenders competing to solve them. Read story.

Originally published 12:00 a.m., October 6, 2016
Updated 11:49 a.m., October 7, 2016

Jean Blois Joins Race for Goleta Water District

Former board member says district should act on finite water supply. Read story.

Friday, September 30, 2016

A Former Goleta Mayor Weighs In on the Election

Voters can decide whether to select or elect the city leader. Read story.

Monday, September 19, 2016

Real-Time Exploring via E/V 'Nautilus'

How to dive to the seafloor without getting wet. Read story.

Monday, August 15, 2016

Time to Close the Ellwood Onshore Facility

If not now, when? Read story.

Monday, July 18, 2016

Goleta Library Struggles to Offer Full Services

Children’s librarian position faces a cut to balance budget. Read story.

Saturday, July 2, 2016

Where Is Downtown Goleta?

Elements that constitute the heart of a town. Read story.

Monday, June 20, 2016

Goleta Beach Park’s Future Stalled

Battle over the erosion plan must wait another few months. Read story.

Sunday, May 29, 2016

State of the Good Land Is ‘Good,’ Says City Manager

Goleta is thriving, but Mayor Farr opposes the Revenue Neutrality Agreement. Read story.

Thursday, May 19, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: