WEATHER »

Greka in the News

Weekend Oil Spills for Greka

The three accidents so far have leaked an estimated 950 gallons since Christmas. Read story.

Monday, December 29, 2008

Greka Energy Spills Oil Again

2008's most frequent spiller lost 420 gallons at a North County facility. Read story.

Friday, December 26, 2008

Greka to Pay Millions?

State Water Quality Control Board looks to fine Santa Barbara County's Greka Energy. Read story.

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

U.S. EPA Holds Greka Responsible for Cleanup of Toxic PCBs

Oil company begins area assessment under EPA direction. Read story.

Monday, June 23, 2008

Greka Spill at Union Sugar Lease

County issues stop-work order. Read story.

Saturday, May 31, 2008

Updated: Greka Pipe Allegedly Leaks Underground

Oil company refutes all claims by County regarding spill and ensuing evacuation, however. Read story.

Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Is Greka Still Spilling?

This week, county staff gave an update on Greka's record: rosier but more work to be done. Read story.

Thursday, March 13, 2008

Greka Spills Again Again

Two to four barrels of crude leak into a Santa Maria creek. Read story.

Monday, March 3, 2008

Greka Investigates Sabotage Claims

Tom Parker has found evidence "that the individual or individuals responsible have an insider's knowledge" of the industry. Read story.

Thursday, February 14, 2008

Greka Finds Evidence of Sabotage

Oil company ties spill to a cut cap. Read story.

Saturday, February 9, 2008

Greka Faces Stiff Daily Fines

The Federal Environmental Protection Agency added more heat to the controversy surrounding Greka Energy on 1/30... Read story.

Thursday, February 7, 2008

Greka Threatens To Sue County

Greka Energy continued to fight what it calls unreasonable enforcement actions by the Santa Barbara County Fire Department... Read story.

Thursday, February 7, 2008

Greka Threatens to Lay Off 100 Workers

Claims firings result from "selective enforcement" by the County. Read story.

Saturday, February 2, 2008

Environmental Protection Agency Gets Tough on Greka

Fines of $32,000 a day until compliance with pollution control act. Read story.

Thursday, January 31, 2008

Greka Names New President and Environmental Plan

This week, Greka announced a new president, Andrew deVegvar and the "Greka Green" facilities improvement plan. Read story.

Thursday, January 31, 2008
event calendar sponsored by: