WEATHER »

High School Traffic

Santa Barbara native Maren Schiffer graduated from both Washington Elementary and Santa Barbara Junior High before moving onto Santa Barbara High School, where she is currently in her senior year. In "High School Traffic," Maren will detail the perils and pleasures of the schooling life as she prepares for graduation this coming June.

The Thursday Paper

High school graduate stops to note childhood’s end. Read story.

Sunday, June 6, 2010

Class of 2010 Rules

High school senior believes her class is comprised of the best individuals ever. Read story.

Sunday, May 30, 2010

Up All Night

It is 2:48 a.m., and high school senior Maren Schiffer has three different assignments to complete. Read story.

Saturday, May 22, 2010

Public Displays of Affection on Campus

There was a time when the high school columnist hoped PDAs were a passing trend. Read story.

Saturday, May 15, 2010

Being Seventeen

I think I love being a teenager, despite the brutality that comes with it. Read story.

Sunday, April 18, 2010

All Kinds of Diverse

High School Traffic shares an answer to the actual essay question, "Diversity: What does it mean to you?" Read story.

Sunday, April 4, 2010

Avoiding Adult Social Gatherings

High School Traffic presents the perspective of a senior fielding the same numbing questions time after time after time . . . Read story.

Saturday, March 27, 2010

Four Days in Ashland

I woke up with someone's leg pinning my cheek to the aisle floor. Read story.

Sunday, March 21, 2010

Marching Forth on March 4th

Santa Barbara represents for public education. Read story.

Saturday, March 6, 2010

Who Are You Calling Gifted?

High School Traffic continues to examine the complicated controversy surrounding GATE program. Read story.

Monday, March 1, 2010

The GATE's Closing

High school administrators propose to eliminate Gifted and Talented Education programs. Read story.

Saturday, February 20, 2010

Laid-back Band Leaves Impact

Tierney Sutton Band’s jazz master class at SBHS a reminder that passion can be at core of success. Read story.

Saturday, February 6, 2010

Music of the Night in Its Tenth Year

Musical review produced entirely by students most popular show on campus. Read story.

Saturday, January 30, 2010

Online Forever

High School Traffic’s observations on media addiction, up close and personal. Read story.

Saturday, January 23, 2010

Staring into the Abyss

High school columnist’s investigation of hole in the ground outside fifth period class reveals bigger picture. Read story.

Sunday, January 10, 2010
event calendar sponsored by: