WEATHER »

independent.com/homeless

Community Celebrates “My Home” Opening

The My Home project fills a gap in care for kids without families. Read story.

Friday, April 8, 2011

John L. Survives Pneumonia, Again.

The 62-year-old former Marine might move to a motel or apartment soon. Read story.

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

More Unsheltered in SB This Week

One Hundred Shelter Residents Left Casa Esperanza Friday. Read story.

Monday, April 4, 2011

Could a Mobile Lunch Program Work?

Organic Soup Kitchen and Community Kitchen throw out figures and calorie counts. By Nick St.Oegger Read story.

Monday, April 4, 2011

Blog Wins Online Community Building Fellowship

Blog will be looking at what happens to homeless people after hospital stays. Read story.

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Paradigms Lost and Found

Where right meets left on homelessness. Read story.

Thursday, March 24, 2011

WillBridge Inching Toward Acceptance at Peabody

Some parents still frustrated and wish project would go away. Read story.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Francisco Mulls Ways to End Homelessness

Addicts need treatment but complacent loafers need tough love. Read story.

Monday, March 21, 2011

RV Dwellers Seek to Reopen Lawsuit

Lawyers for RV dwellers filed a motion to vacate settlement and reinstate lawsuit. Read story.

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Cab Rides from Jail Could Resume

Indigent inmates would use service instead of walking into town along unlit streets. Read story.

Monday, March 14, 2011

Homeless Kids Plentiful in Santa Maria Schools

Most of the homeless students are living doubled-up. Read story.

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Forum Explores Causes of Homelessness

America’s broken mental health system is the evening’s theme. Read story.

Friday, March 4, 2011

Finding the Most Fragile

Hundreds conduct definitive survey of Santa Barbara’s homeless. Read story.

Thursday, March 3, 2011

Self Says Homeless Need “Turn Around Centers”

These centers would teach homeless people to give back to the community. Read story.

Friday, February 25, 2011

William “Lucky” Bedel Is Dead

Bedel was a “fragile” diabetic who lived sporadically at Casa Esperanza. Read story.

Thursday, February 24, 2011
event calendar sponsored by: