WEATHER »

In Print - A&E

The Lobero Reopens

The fully remodeled Lobero Theatre is back and ready to rock. Read story.

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Mutiny Studios Brings It Home for the Holidays

Live music, burlesque dancers, and more converge at Seven Bar & Kitchen on December 7. Read story.

Thursday, December 5, 2013

Interview: The Olms

Singer/songwriter Pete Yorn teams up with musician/photographer J.D. King for a new, California-indebted rock album. Read story.

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Interview: Geographer

The Bay Area trio plays SOhO on Friday, November 22, with Bad Suns. Read story.

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Andrew Bird’s Hands of Glory

Arts & Lectures brings the violinist to Campbell Hall on Thursday, November 21. Read story.

Thursday, November 14, 2013

KCSB Launches Bank Burner Records

Santa Barbara’s Dante Elephante will release the first vinyl on the radio station’s new label. Read story.

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Santa Barbara Guitar Bar Sets a New Standard

The longtime Instrumental Music manager strikes out on his own to make a high-end guitar shop for the masses. Read story.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Interview: Passion Pit’s Michael Angelakos

As tour comes to a close, Passion Pit’s frontman and guiding force talks honeymoons, collaborations, and what comes next. Read story.

Thursday, October 24, 2013

New Noise 2013: The Ones to Watch

Not sure who to see and where to see it? Check out our cheat sheet for this weekend’s festival. Read story.

Thursday, October 17, 2013

Review: Tonalism Then and Now at Sullivan Goss

Tonalism, a late-19th-century approach to landscape painting, is experiencing a resurgence. Read story.

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Meet the Downtown Sound Final Six

Our annual battle of the bands takes over SOhO Restaurant & Music Club on Friday, October 4. Read story.

Thursday, October 3, 2013

This Week in Music: Stomp Folk, Synth Grooves

Whether you’re a lover of acoustic guitars or a fan of electronic rock, this week’s got something in store for you. Read story.

Thursday, September 26, 2013

No Age Goes (Even More) DIY

No Age’s Randy Randall talks big moves, failed recording sessions, and “manhandling” the band’s new record. Read story.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Getting to Know Banks

The rising L.A. soul singer heads to Santa Barbara on Sunday, September 15. Read story.

Thursday, September 12, 2013

fun. Heads to the Bowl with Their BFFS

Guitarist Jack Antanoff gears up for fun.’s next tour stop — this Saturday at the Santa Barbara Bowl. Read story.

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Phoenix Reading

Celebratory reading for the annual Phoenix, a literary journal published ... Read More