WEATHER »

In Print - A&E

Steely Dan Takes On the Virtual Conference Call

Walter Becker and Donald Fagen talk Kanye, memory loss, and their upcoming Mood Swings: 8 Miles to Pancake Day Tour. Read story.

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Nite Jewel’s Ramona Gonzalez on L.A. Scenes, S.B. Roots

Nite Jewel and SFV Acid will play the Ojai Rancho Inn on Thursday, August 15. Read story.

Thursday, August 8, 2013

Getting to Know Balmorhea

Founding member Rob Lowe talks shop in anticipation of the band’s upcoming West Coast tour. Read story.

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Review: In the Big Room at MichaelKate

The 22 artists in this group show represent the eclecticism and breadth of the Santa Barbara art scene. Read story.

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

The Return of Belle & Sebastian

The Glasgow band will headline the Santa Barbara Bowl on July 17. Read story.

Thursday, July 11, 2013

Ojai Rancho Inn Kicks Off Summer Concert Series

Catch Pure Bathing Culture poolside on Wednesday, July 3, in Ojai. Read story.

Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Rise of Santa Barbara Hip-Hop

Damizza’s Baby Ree label is launching the careers of Lil Bams, Kidd, and other rappers. Read story.

Thursday, June 27, 2013

Crying 4 Kafka Unveils Punk-Rock Musical June 21

Muddy Waters Café will play host to the premiere of The Saint of Fucked Up Karma. Read story.

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Getting to Know Zavalaz

The Mars Volta frontman on his new band, the breakup, and becoming a dad. Read story.

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Ghost Tiger Starts Fresh with Birdfeeder 7-Inch

The Santa Barbara band will play a record-release show on Thursday, June 6. Read story.

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

2013 Independent Theater Awards

The Independent presented its annual theater awards on Monday, May 20, at the Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History. Read story.

Thursday, May 23, 2013

Matt Costa Heads Overseas for New Album

Brushfire Records’ golden boy returns with a lush and guest star–filled new record. Read story.

Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Santa Barbara Centre for Aerial Arts Launches

Santa Barbara’s dedicated aerial dance school and home of La Petite Chouette is on the rise, with a larger space, a new show at the Lobero, and big plans for international travel. Read story.

Thursday, May 9, 2013

Beware of Darkness Unveils Orthodox

Kyle Nicolaides’s Beware of Darkness drops its debut LP on May 7. Read story.

Thursday, May 2, 2013

John Corbett Gets Musical for a Good Cause

After last week’s concert melee, we gear up for the return of Old Crowe Medicine Show. Read story.

Thursday, April 25, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: