WEATHER »

In Print - Cover Story

Game of Drones

The reign of fly-by-night business is coming to an end in Santa Barbara and beyond. Read story.

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Italian Renaissance Comes to Santa Barbara

Botticelli, Titian, and Bellini are among the masters represented in this important exhibition of Italian art from the Glasgow Museums collection. Read story.

Thursday, February 12, 2015

SBIFF 2015 Mid-fest Report

Super cinema, stars we’ve seen, Steve Carell, and more. Read story.

Thursday, February 5, 2015

SBIFF Celebrates 30 Years

Roger Durling’s dream crystallizes on his 12th year as head of the Santa Barbara International Film Festival. Read story.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Cutting the Red Tape

Franklin School opens a new service center designed to help everyone in the neighborhood. Read story.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Santa Barbara's Shop Pets

Find out which Santa Barbara businesses are going to the dogs (and cats). Read story.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Santa Barbara’s Many Paths to Becoming Clean & Sober

Here’s an intimate look at the recovery community in our party town. Read story.

Thursday, January 8, 2015

Our Year in Pictures 2014

Here’s The Santa Barbara Independent’s annual photographic review. Read story.

Wednesday, December 31, 2014

In from the Cold

Former foes join forces on Milpas to help the chronically homeless get off the streets. Read story.

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

The Miracles and Misery of Mt. Carmel

How the failed dreams of cloistered nuns gave birth to Santa Barbara wine country. Read story.

Thursday, December 18, 2014

A Santa Barbara Homecoming

Surf photographer Donnie Hedden returns to his childhood home, rediscovering its waves and ways. Read story.

Thursday, December 11, 2014

'Tis the Season 2014

Check out S.B.'s complete and definitive guide to all things merry and bright this season. Read story.

Thursday, December 4, 2014

Local Heroes 2014

The Santa Barbara Independent's annual celebration of good people. Read story.

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Surviving Santa Barbara

Told by the survivors themselves, the many trials and triumphs of calling Santa Barbara home. Read story.

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Independent Education Supplement

From when the bells ring to where the field trips go and how parents receive report cards, schools are changing to adapt to a new era in education. Read story.

Thursday, November 13, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: