WEATHER »

In Print - Cover Story

Rescuing Children from the Whittier Fire

How a Forest Service patrolman and a Santa Barbara firefighter helped 90 campers and their counselors survive the flames. Read story.

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Summer Reading 2017

D.J. Palladino releases his first novel, a fantastical murder mystery in 1958 Santa Barbara. Read story.

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Santa Barbara: Your Staycation Destination

Why home is the best place to travel this summer. Read story.

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Santa Barbara Surfer Rides a 53-Foot Wave

Santa Barbara surfer Ben Andrews rides a 53-foot wave at Maverick’s and wins $50,000. Read story.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Carrizo Plain: The American Serengeti

National Monument qualifies as a small but significant remnant of what was once one of the world’s great grasslands. Read story.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Blue and Green 2017

Our annual ode to the great outdoors. Read story.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Who Murdered Henry Han and His Family?

Prosecutors present evidence against Pierre Haobsh at the preliminary hearing. Read story.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

Nukes of Hazard: Vandenberg, Star Wars, and North Korea

Will the Star Wars program at Vandenberg Air Force Base make us a North Korean target? Read story.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

2017 Santa Barbara Independent Theater and Dance Awards

The Indy Awards recognize Santa Barbara’s best on the stage. Read story.

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Welcome to the Madhouse

The Hickey family looks for mental-health help in all the wrong places. Read story.

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Jobs! Jobs! Jobs!

Profiles of cool careers and the latest employment trends in Santa Barbara County. Read story.

Thursday, May 11, 2017

BRAVO! Puts Families Inside the Sound

This is how the Santa Barbara Symphony and the school district make music together. Read story.

Thursday, May 4, 2017

News Commentary: Santa Barbara’s First One Hundred Days of Donald Trump

One reporter’s journey through the strange land of Donald Trump’s first 100 days Read story.

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Battle to Save Santa Barbara’s Mission Creek

How the blind cabinetmaker Bruce Munson fought the Army Corps of Engineers and won—almost. Read story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Stinner Frameworks Builds Great American Bikes Again

The story behind the man who made Stinner Frameworks an international brand. Read story.

Thursday, April 13, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: