WEATHER »

In Print - Cover Story

Community Arts Workshop Gets Gates

Artist David Shelton creates elaborate iron entrances for the new CAW. Read story.

Thursday, January 7, 2016

Year in Pictures 2015

The Santa Barbara Independent presents its annual photographic extravaganza. Read story.

Thursday, December 31, 2015

A Letter of Hope from Paris

Awash in the crosscurrents of climate change and terrorism in the City of Light. Read story.

Thursday, December 24, 2015

The Great Vacation-Rental Debate

Tensions increase over Santa Barbara’s Accommodations for short-term stays. Read story.

Thursday, December 17, 2015

Tales of Redemption from S.B. Animal Shelters

Read on for a handful of happy-ending tales from Santa Barbara shelters. Read story.

Thursday, December 10, 2015

Made in Santa Barbara Gift Guide

Here are some handmade shopping ideas for the holiday season. Read story.

Thursday, December 3, 2015

'Tis the Season

Check out S.B.’s most complete guide to all the happenings this holiday season. Read story.

Originally published 12:00 a.m., December 3, 2015
Updated 12:32 p.m., December 7, 2015

Local Heroes 2015

The Independent’s annual issue honoring some of the finest folks in S.B. Read story.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Ross Macdonald at 100

The rediscovery of Santa Barbara’s greatest writer. Read story.

Thursday, November 19, 2015

Getting Schooled in Santa Barbara

The Independent explores the many paths to an education in S.B. County. Read story.

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Tech-Topia

A special report from deep inside Santa Barbara’s quietly booming tech sector. Read story.

Thursday, November 5, 2015

Día de los Muertos at the Bowl

The Day of the Dead celebration turns three. Read story.

Thursday, October 29, 2015

Shark Attack off Santa Cruz Island

A spear fisherman successfully fought off a hammerhead shark in the Santa Barbara Channel. Read story.

Thursday, October 22, 2015

Best of Santa Barbara® Readers’ Poll 2015

‘The Santa Barbara Independent’ readers vote for their favorite places in town. Read story.

Thursday, October 15, 2015

S.B. Musicians on the Rise

Check out some of the newest and best bands Santa Barbara has to offer right now. Read story.

Thursday, October 8, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: