WEATHER »

In Print - Cover Story

DREAMers Strive for Higher Education

Undocumented Santa Barbara County students share their struggles. Read story.

Thursday, February 13, 2014

SBIFF 2014: What We've Seen, What's to Come

Josef Woodard delivers midfest report, Shannon Kelley peeps parties, and John Zant interviews Bruce Dern about acting and running. Read story.

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Santa Barbara's Annual "Screencation"

Our preview of the Santa Barbara International Film Festival 2014. Read story.

Thursday, January 30, 2014

In Time of Drought, State Water in Serious Doubt

The Central Coast Water Authority has issued a bombshell warning about dwindling supplies. Read story.

Thursday, January 23, 2014

Inside the E-Cigarette Revolution

We look at the business, health, and law of Santa Barbara vaping scene. Read story.

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Winter Art Preview 2014

Our seasonal preview outlines your best bets for this season’s arts, dance, theater, and live-music offerings. Read story.

Thursday, January 9, 2014

All Hail La Santa Cecilia

Los Angeles’ La Santa Cecilia is crossing genres, blurring culture lines, and bringing music back into the classroom. Read story.

Thursday, January 9, 2014

California's Island Winery, Reborn

A Santa Barbara family realizes their dream of growing grapes — including historic zinfandel from Santa Cruz Island — on Catalina. Read story.

Thursday, January 2, 2014

The Year in Pictures 2013

The Santa Barbara Independent presents our annual collection of super shots. Read story.

Thursday, December 26, 2013

My Life: Paddling Through the Storm

Last July, unbeknownst to me, I was bleeding internally at a rather rapid rate thanks to a baseball-sized cancerous tumor growing deep in my gut. Read story.

Thursday, December 19, 2013

Murals in Santa Barbara

For decades, public murals have spoken out about the society that surrounds them. Read story.

Thursday, December 12, 2013

'Tis the Season 2013

Check out S.B. complete guide to holiday splendor and merrymaking. Read story.

Thursday, December 5, 2013

Local Heroes 2013

The Santa Barbara Independent's 28th annual celebration of outstanding community members. Read story.

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

A Survey of Santa Barbara Schools

Santa Barbara offers a remarkably wide range of choices for parents and children of every age and interest. Read story.

Thursday, November 21, 2013

The Cruise Ship Question

Is there anything bad about boosting visits to Santa Barbara? Read story.

Thursday, November 14, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: