WEATHER »

In Print - News

Isla Vista Cops Get Body-Cams

But at $300 to $550 apiece, they may be too pricey for the rest of the Sheriff's Office. Read story.

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Ganging Up on Gun Violence

Capps teams with Richard Martinez, reflects on State of the Union. Read story.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Cheap Gas, but Pricey Futures

Can OPEC shake out Santa Barbara oil operators? Read story.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Police Prejudiced Against 'Blacks and Browns'?

Church leaders and city residents say racial profiling is alive and well in Santa Barbara. Read story.

Originally published 6:00 p.m., December 22, 2014
Updated 8:00 a.m., December 23, 2014

Behavioral Health's 'Big Bang'

Dr. Alice Gleghorn takes over once-struggling department. Read story.

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Governing the Anarchist Bubble of Isla Vista

With Das Williams in the lead, taxation and control is examined in earnest. Read story.

Thursday, December 11, 2014

State Urged to Fix Fatally Flawed 9-1-1 System

Lawsuit filed over Santa Barbara woman's death after routing snafu. Read story.

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Isla Vista's Blueprint for Change?

Report details potential cures for town's many ills. Read story.

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Doubling Down on Milpas Street

Will new business district keep it real or accelerate gentrification? Read story.

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Oil Industry Polluting Ventura?

Toxic metals and salts found in coastal watersheds. Read story.

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Tempers Flare over District Elections

City council opts to put issues to voters next year. Read story.

Thursday, October 30, 2014

Santa Barbara's Ebola Scenario

County agencies ready for the unlikely possibility that the disease could land here. Read story.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Can Creek Restoration and Affordable Housing Coexist?

The proposal for a 91-unit senior housing complex hits a major roadblock. Read story.

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Dodging Measure P Oil Slicks

Drilling ban legality hits the board and the fan. Read story.

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Cajun Kitchen Rallies to Save 'Gator Boy'

Order to paint over downtown mural is appealed by restaurant owners. Read story.

Thursday, September 18, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: