WEATHER »

In Print - News

Lake Cachuma 11 Percent Full or 89 Percent Empty?

Santa Barbara desalination 'opening' delayed by a couple of months. Read story.

Thursday, July 28, 2016

Meet Police Chief Lori Luhnow

She talks homelessness, implicit bias, and training guardians, not warriors. Read story.

Thursday, July 21, 2016

Biologists Go E-Fishing for Steelhead

Stun and release method commences as Cachuma goes “dry.” Read story.

Thursday, July 14, 2016

From FBI Boss to Death Penalty Foe

Tom Parker's quest to free a convicted murderer. Read story.

Thursday, July 7, 2016

Hedge Fund Manager Under Investigation Commits Suicide

Paul Welterlen was facing likely charges of grand theft, securities fraud, and money laundering. Read story.

Thursday, June 30, 2016

Sola Street Bike Route Approved

After major pushback from Micheltorena neighbors, City Hall reworked its plan. Read story.

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Will Bernie Supporters Align Behind Hillary?

Local Democratic leaders talk uniting the clans. Read story.

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Methadone Program Blasted

Number of people treated jumps; so do complaints. Read story.

Thursday, June 9, 2016

North County Jail All but Approved

With a $80 million deadline only months away, the supes vote 4-1 to move forward. Read story.

Thursday, May 26, 2016

Gaviota Ranches Up for Sale

Realtor wants conservation-minded buyer for Las Varas, Dos Pueblos, and Naples properties. Read story.

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Has Housing Experiment Created a Monster?

City leaders gasp at 36 high-density projects in the pipeline. Read story.

Thursday, May 5, 2016

Reverend Mark Asman 'Refires'

Reflects on 21-year legacy of activism. Read story.

Thursday, April 28, 2016

‘Stealth’ Water Demand Fuels Goleta Growth During Drought

Ban on new hookups doesn’t apply to developers with historical credit, water district says. Read story.

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Sheriff Grilled over Spiraling Costs, Morale Crisis

Supervisors take him to task for higher jail funding and recruitment woes. Read story.

Thursday, April 14, 2016

Jail Staff Face Brutally Long Work Hours

Sheriff Bill Brown asks for additional funding due to staff shortages. Read story.

Thursday, April 7, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: