WEATHER »

In Print - News

The South Coast: A Tale of Two Workforces

Grim facts are revealed about the housing/jobs imbalance. Read story.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Sheriff Misfires in Budget Shootout

Could Santa Barbara really scrap the North County Jail? Read story.

Thursday, April 9, 2015

UCSB to Greeks: The Party's Over

A third fraternity is shut down, and a sorority is suspended. Read story.

Thursday, April 2, 2015

The Electric Coral Acid Test

Scientists study a deep-sea "poster child" for changing ocean climates. Read story.

Thursday, March 26, 2015

Gibraltar Road Closing for Major Repairs

The historic mountain passage is getting a full repaving for the first time in more than 70 years. Read story.

Thursday, March 19, 2015

Water Rates Rising, Lake Cachuma Dropping

County considers taking no supplies from reservoir come October. Read story.

Thursday, March 12, 2015

Sheriff, DA Rain on Prop 47 Parade

Caution supervisors over supposed benefits of new sentencing law. Read story.

Thursday, March 5, 2015

Tensions Roiling over Milpas Plan

Cops called during protest against business improvement district. Read story.

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Herd Immunity or Insanity?

Santa Barbara anti-vaxxers tip the scale. Read story.

Thursday, February 12, 2015

Desal Time Travel

City plant gets green light from state water board. Read story.

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Isla Vista Cops Get Body-Cams

But at $300 to $550 apiece, they may be too pricey for the rest of the Sheriff's Office. Read story.

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Ganging Up on Gun Violence

Capps teams with Richard Martinez, reflects on State of the Union. Read story.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Cheap Gas, but Pricey Futures

Can OPEC shake out Santa Barbara oil operators? Read story.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Police Prejudiced Against 'Blacks and Browns'?

Church leaders and city residents say racial profiling is alive and well in Santa Barbara. Read story.

Originally published 6:00 p.m., December 22, 2014
Updated 8:00 a.m., December 23, 2014

Behavioral Health's 'Big Bang'

Dr. Alice Gleghorn takes over once-struggling department. Read story.

Thursday, December 18, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: