WEATHER »

In Print - News

Reverend Mark Asman 'Refires'

Reflects on 21-year legacy of activism. Read story.

Thursday, April 28, 2016

‘Stealth’ Water Demand Fuels Goleta Growth During Drought

Ban on new hookups doesn’t apply to developers with historical credit, water district says. Read story.

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Sheriff Grilled over Spiraling Costs, Morale Crisis

Supervisors take him to task for higher jail funding and recruitment woes. Read story.

Thursday, April 14, 2016

Jail Staff Face Brutally Long Work Hours

Sheriff Bill Brown asks for additional funding due to staff shortages. Read story.

Thursday, April 7, 2016

Inside the Han Family Murders

The investigation, and the legacy of Dr. Henry Han. Read story.

Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Smart Phones = Dumb Kids?

Panel discussion follows showing of 'Screenagers' documentary. Read story.

Thursday, March 24, 2016

Hundreds of Farmworkers Laid Off

Homeland Security investigations strip Santa Maria workforces amid labor shortage. Read story.

Thursday, March 17, 2016

Psych Ward Woes

Santa Barbara doubles budget to ship patients out of county. Read story.

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Micheltorena Bike Lane Environmentally Defective?

A long night at City Council ends with a serious CEQA curveball. Read story.

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Sheriff Opts to Self-Police Jail

He hired a former custody lieutenant to oversee the complaints process. Read story.

Thursday, February 18, 2016

Santa Maria: Murder City

The string of January killings was unprecedented. Read story.

Thursday, February 11, 2016

Coastal Commish Drama Bleeds into S.B.

Worries arise over access and development. Read story.

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Faking a Murderer?

Alleged false confession key in Olive Street homicide trial. Read story.

Thursday, January 28, 2016

No 'Hail Mary' Allowed for STAR Complex

The county will give a $40 million jail grant back to the state. Read story.

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Rain, Rain, Don't Go Away

No dent in the drought with storms mostly missing backcountry reservoirs. Read story.

Thursday, January 14, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: