WEATHER »

In Print - News

Smart Phones = Dumb Kids?

Panel discussion follows showing of 'Screenagers' documentary. Read story.

Thursday, March 24, 2016

Hundreds of Farmworkers Laid Off

Homeland Security investigations strip Santa Maria workforces amid labor shortage. Read story.

Thursday, March 17, 2016

Psych Ward Woes

Santa Barbara doubles budget to ship patients out of county. Read story.

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Micheltorena Bike Lane Environmentally Defective?

A long night at City Council ends with a serious CEQA curveball. Read story.

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Sheriff Opts to Self-Police Jail

He hired a former custody lieutenant to oversee the complaints process. Read story.

Thursday, February 18, 2016

Santa Maria: Murder City

The string of January killings was unprecedented. Read story.

Thursday, February 11, 2016

Coastal Commish Drama Bleeds into S.B.

Worries arise over access and development. Read story.

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Faking a Murderer?

Alleged false confession key in Olive Street homicide trial. Read story.

Thursday, January 28, 2016

No 'Hail Mary' Allowed for STAR Complex

The county will give a $40 million jail grant back to the state. Read story.

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Rain, Rain, Don't Go Away

No dent in the drought with storms mostly missing backcountry reservoirs. Read story.

Thursday, January 14, 2016

Refugio Reviewed

Did we learn our lesson on pipeline safety? Read story.

Thursday, December 24, 2015

Judge Blasts Analysis of Freeway-Widening Project

Said the Caltrans report failed to address traffic impacts on city streets. Read story.

Originally published 1:12 p.m., December 16, 2015
Updated 3:01 p.m., December 17, 2015

Sheriff Thanks His Lucky STAR

The new jail reentry wing was saved from the chopping block. Read story.

Originally published 12:00 a.m., December 10, 2015
Updated 3:06 p.m., December 10, 2015

¿Qué Pasa, El Niño?

Dissecting the excitement of the winter weather event. Read story.

Thursday, December 3, 2015

Filling a Mental Health Missing Link

County opens new Crisis Stabilization Unit. Read story.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: