WEATHER »

independent.com/islavista

Bridging the Student-Police Gap

Citizens Academy gives Isla Vistans behind-the-scenes look at police practices. Read story.

Monday, April 25, 2016

Isla Vista Pushes Back Against Rebranding Effort

I.V. Safe discussed at last week’s community meeting. Read story.

Monday, April 18, 2016

Deltopia Arrest Numbers Down Again

For the second year in a row, Isla Vista's mega-party is kept somewhat in check. Read story.

Monday, April 4, 2016

Self-Regulating Isla Vista's Party

Isla Vistans take a big step toward changing partying and patrolling with UCIV. Read story.

Friday, April 1, 2016

Deltopia Restrictions Placed and Cleanup Help Requested

UCSB, county, Goleta, volunteers pull out the stops to subdue spring party. Read story.

Thursday, March 31, 2016

UCSB’s Adopted Child — Isla Vista

The university’s influence in Isla Vista has evolved from incidental to purposeful. Read story.

Monday, March 7, 2016

Is Isla Vista Growing Up?

With a mixture of optimism and unease, residents feel somewhat safer. Read story.

Thursday, March 3, 2016

The Isla Vista 'Student Ghetto'

I.V.'s infrastructure battles the effects of time, poor design, and limited funding. Read story.

Sunday, February 21, 2016

The Epitome of California Surf Culture

Surfing is as much a part of the I.V. milieu as studying and partying. Read story.

Sunday, February 7, 2016

The Burning Bank Legacy

I.V.’s activist scene has an element of "slacktivism" today as fewer students feel blatant injustice. Read story.

Sunday, January 24, 2016

Isla Vista's Transportation Jungle

The volume and variety of transportation in I.V. make for a chaotic and tricky urban planning problem. Read story.

Monday, January 11, 2016

The Home Stretch for AB3

The last real hurdle to self-governance will be convincing Isla Vistans to approve it. Read story.

Monday, December 28, 2015

A Community Measured by Its Parks

Isla Vista’s parks continue to serve as the stage for expressing the community’s zeitgeist. Read story.

Monday, December 21, 2015

Supes Talk Isla Vista Dollars and Cents

The supervisors talked taxes, revenues, and self-government. Read story.

Thursday, December 10, 2015

Unremitting Evolution of Downtown I.V.

Generations of businesses have struggled to find their niche within the dense student enclave. Read story.

Monday, November 30, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: