WEATHER »

independent.com/islavista

Isla Vista Special District Talks Trash

The majority of the board said they first needed to figure out the district's funding sources. Read story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

New I.V. District Board Snarled in Procedure

Funding, interns, and structure debated toward midnight. Read story.

Friday, April 7, 2017

Inaugural Meeting of the Isla Vista Community Services District

The historic meeting lasted five hours. Read story.

Thursday, March 9, 2017

Geis Appointed to I.V. Community Services District

The county's recently retired auditor-controller will tackle the funding a dilemma. Read story.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Fatal OD in Isla Vista

SBCC student death sixth in five years. Read story.

Thursday, September 8, 2016

IV Resists New Noise Ordinance

The proposed amendment would outlaw loud music past 10 p.m. on Fridays and Saturdays. Read story.

Thursday, August 18, 2016

I.V. Elementary Parents Critique New Storke, El Colegio Intersection Design

Concerns remain about schoolchildren crossing the busy roads. Read story.

Friday, July 15, 2016

Isla Vista Conference Looks to the Past to Shape the Future

“We have not allowed ourselves to become victims,” sociologist says. Read story.

Monday, May 23, 2016

Pescadero Lofts Still Full Two Years Later

The homeless housing center holds 35 low-income I.V. residents. Read story.

Sunday, May 22, 2016

LightWorks Illuminates Isla Vista

Light-based arts festival bonds community. Read story.

Saturday, May 21, 2016

Alleged Pastor Attacker Posts Bail

Paul Gusman's attorney said he ingested some "bad LSD." Read story.

Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Bridging the Student-Police Gap

Citizens Academy gives Isla Vistans behind-the-scenes look at police practices. Read story.

Monday, April 25, 2016

Isla Vista Pushes Back Against Rebranding Effort

I.V. Safe discussed at last week’s community meeting. Read story.

Monday, April 18, 2016

Deltopia Arrest Numbers Down Again

For the second year in a row, Isla Vista's mega-party is kept somewhat in check. Read story.

Monday, April 4, 2016

Self-Regulating Isla Vista's Party

Isla Vistans take a big step toward changing partying and patrolling with UCIV. Read story.

Friday, April 1, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: