WEATHER »

independent.com/islavista

I.V. Pastor Fights Defrocking for Officiating Son's Gay Marriage

Frank Schaefer will appear before the Judicial Council of the United Methodist Church next week. Read story.

Thursday, October 16, 2014

A Teenage Wasteland No More

Any way you describe it, Isla Vista is facing a defining moment. Read story.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Bringing the Light to Isla Vista

Committee for a New Isla Vista meets October 7. Read story.

Monday, September 22, 2014

Learning from History

Passage of AB 1014 would allow family members to request a firearms restraining order. Read story.

Monday, September 8, 2014

‘Elliot Rodger’ Bills Pass Legislature

Williams and Jackson proposed new gun control laws in the wake of the Isla Vista killings. Read story.

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

Getting Back to Basics

Reminding students about elementary values could raise the bar on behavior. Read story.

Monday, August 25, 2014

Trouble in Isla Vista

Cat Neushul is feeling like Michael Corleone these days. Read story.

Monday, August 11, 2014

Isla Vista's Singularity

Many signs for many years pointed to the fact that things were getting out of hand in Isla Vista. Read story.

Monday, July 28, 2014

Isla Vista, May 23 - July 11, 2014

The six disembodied energies have not yet / departed Embarcadero del Mar Read story.

Friday, July 18, 2014

Authorities Make Eight More Deltopia Arrests

The suspects were tracked down using tips and video footage. Read story.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

A Chance for Change

In Isla Vista, the status quo is no longer accepted. Read story.

Sunday, July 13, 2014

Deltopia Arrestee Back in Court

Foot Patrol officer and medic describe incident in preliminary hearing. Read story.

Monday, June 30, 2014

Combating Homelessness with Hard Facts

C3H works with city and county officials, service providers, law enforcement, and NGOs to seek effective ways to solve homelessness. Read story.

Monday, June 30, 2014

Isla Vista Man Accused of Rape Appears Court

His roommate took the stand and delivered disturbing testimony. Read story.

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Officer Injured at Deltopia Takes to the Stand

Incident that touched off Deltopia riot this spring described. Read story.

Thursday, June 26, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: