I.V.’s Biggest Export: Musical Talent

From reggae chart-toppers to up-and-coming surf rockers, Isla Vista produces successful artists and bands. Read story.

Monday, October 5, 2015

When Dilapidation Blooms into Art

How a community converts its struggles into an increasingly vibrant art scene. Read story.

Friday, September 18, 2015

Eroding Isla Vista Cliffs a Problem This Winter?

Property owners are bracing for the upcoming El Niño. Read story.

Friday, September 18, 2015

DA Releases Report on Rodger Officer-Involved Shooting

Dudley determines first responders lawfully fired at Isla Vista killer. Read story.

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Isla Vistans Discuss Parking Woes, Housing Developments

Crowded streets and large apartment complexes halt Master Plan update. Read story.

Saturday, September 5, 2015

News Commentary: Readers Respond to Isla Vista Cover Story

I.V. residents wonder why their town doesn't get more positive press. Read story.

Monday, August 24, 2015

Das Williams Pushes for I.V. Governance

State Assemblymember Das Williams tries to bring order to Isla Vista’s unruly community. Read story.

Thursday, August 13, 2015

Isla Vista Moves It Out!

From underwear to Tupperware, students kick it to the curb in June. Read story.

Monday, June 29, 2015

Isla Vista Food Co-op Celebrates 40-Plus Years

A grocery store that serves as the “vehicle for community work.” Read story.

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Isla Vista: Investor's Paradise

High rents, “captive demand” make for upscale market in rundown community. Read story.

Thursday, June 11, 2015

Isla Vista Remembers

A solemn ceremony blue lights for love and remembrance of the six. Read story.

Monday, May 25, 2015

Supes Support Isla Vista Government Bill

In a split vote, county supervisors support Das Williams’s AB 3. Read story.

Thursday, May 21, 2015

Love and Remembrance Garden Dedicated in Isla Vista

Benches and plantings in People's Park designed in memory of victims. Read story.

Thursday, May 21, 2015

Suspects in Isla Vista Shooting Charged

Two held on attempted murder and firearm counts. Read story.

Friday, May 15, 2015

Isla Vista Government Takes One Step Forward

Das Williams's AB 3 approved in Assembly's Local Government Committee. Read story.

Thursday, May 14, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: