WEATHER »

Letters

Farewell, Barry

Barry was a wonderful writer, artist. and teacher, and his poetry mentorship has meant a great deal to me over the past seven years. Read story.

Friday, March 21, 2014

Disagreeing with Hate

Why do so many people in different parts of the world have an absolute hate for those who disagree with their religions, political views, moral opinions? Read story.

Friday, March 21, 2014

PARKING TICKET

How dare you leave me a ticket of offense on my chariot of fire, after my day of Sun bathing beneath the sky beside the blue ocean! Read story.

Thursday, March 20, 2014

More Burma Disagreement

Though economic investment may drive improvement for some Burmese, for the marginalized, like the Rohingya, it will likely leave them behind. Read story.

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

For the Dogs

Certain foods can cause severe illness or death in dogs. Read story.

Monday, March 17, 2014

Thanks, Isla Vista!

Thanks to the work of many UCSB students, Isla Vista residents old and new, and the cooperation of the community, the county retained ownership of two buildings in the loop. Read story.

Sunday, March 16, 2014

'Burma' Bravo

Burma's troubles were off the radar screen following " … Obama's historic visit … " Read story.

Saturday, March 15, 2014

Keep the Rocks at Goleta Beach

Supervisors should consider alternatives, like keeping the rock revetments at Goleta Beach that have helped widen the beach and stopped its destruction. Read story.

Friday, March 14, 2014

Coping with Voices

New therapy validates hearing voices as meaningful, though perhaps fearful, event that speaks to the person in a metaphorical way about their lives. Read story.

Thursday, March 13, 2014

A Light on Burma

Kevin McKiernan's firsthand, in-depth report from Burma is a journalistic coup. Read story.

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

The Diablo's in the Details

"Fukushima" article fails to mention that Joseph Mangano has published over 30 articles on radiation and health in peer-review scientific and medical journals. Read story.

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Responsible Headlines

The headline on this past week's cover just provokes the issue, rather than serving to clarify it. Read story.

Monday, March 10, 2014

A Word from Sandra Brown

I am here to tell you Bill Brown has not had any new solutions since taking office over seven years ago. Read story.

Sunday, March 9, 2014

Traffic and Parking

Handicapped people in Santa Barbara have very limited parking. This is a shame. Read story.

Saturday, March 8, 2014

Rally Against Fracking

On Saturday, March 15, thousands of people will converge on Sacramento for the biggest anti-fracking demonstration in California history. Read story.

Friday, March 7, 2014