WEATHER »

Medical Marijuana News

State Works to Clear Up Medical Marijuana Confusion

Bill would create official oversight and regulatory commission for California. Read story.

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Dope Days Are Over?

In the wake of federal raids, Santa Barbara medical marijuana dispensaries face an uncertain future. Read story.

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Plans Derailed to Open Pot Dispensary on Maldonado Property

Plans to open a medical marijuana dispensary on property owned by the family of former lieutenant governor and congressional candidate Abel Maldonado may have become derailed as news of the potentially embarrassing deal came to light just before Thanksgiving, thanks to a political blogger. Read story.

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Dispensary Owners Sentenced to Probation

Juan Solis and Sinthia Martinez, owners of Westside marijuana dispensary The Healing Center, and manager Rudy Lopez were sentenced on 11/7 to probation after Judge Frank Ochoa found them guilty of various offenses related to the store's operation. Read story.

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Supes Ban Marijuana Shops

Vote to make emergency moratorium a permanent part of county code. Read story.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

County's Medical Marijuana Ban Moves Forward

On Wednesday, two planning commissions gave the green light for a permanent moratorium on cannabis dispensaries. Read story.

Friday, October 21, 2011

Clear as Mud

Status of pot dispensaries murkier than ever. Read story.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

County Mulls Pot Shop Ban

Supes reject ordinance proposed by staff allowing a few storefronts. Read story.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

Legal Grey Area Clouds Pot Shop Case

Judge cites unclear state laws in sentencing former medical marijuana dispensary owner, Joshua Braun. Read story.

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Hortipharm Owner Sentencing Hearing Delayed

Former medical marijuana dispensary owner Josh Braun saw his sentencing hearing continued this week until early October as presiding judge Brian Hill was forced to miss the September 19 court date due to a scheduling conflict related to the Corey Lyons murder trial. Read story.

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

County Starts Pot Rules Vision Quest

Staffers select only seven potential storefront sites. Read story.

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Council Gives Pot Shops More Time to Move

Santa Barbara City Council voted to give two medical marijuana dispensaries up to four years to find new locations. Read story.

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Clear as Smoke

De la Vina dispensary denied. Read story.

Thursday, February 10, 2011

City Retreats on Pot Shops

The maximum number of dispensaries allowed may increase from three to five. Read story.

Thursday, January 13, 2011

Pot Shop Approved

Thumbs up for Santa Barbara Patients Group; thumbs down for Compassion Center. Read story.

Thursday, December 23, 2010
event calendar sponsored by: