WEATHER »

Medical Marijuana News

Hortipharm Owner Sentencing Hearing Delayed

Former medical marijuana dispensary owner Josh Braun saw his sentencing hearing continued this week until early October as presiding judge Brian Hill was forced to miss the September 19 court date due to a scheduling conflict related to the Corey Lyons murder trial. Read story.

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

County Starts Pot Rules Vision Quest

Staffers select only seven potential storefront sites. Read story.

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Council Gives Pot Shops More Time to Move

Santa Barbara City Council voted to give two medical marijuana dispensaries up to four years to find new locations. Read story.

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Clear as Smoke

De la Vina dispensary denied. Read story.

Thursday, February 10, 2011

City Retreats on Pot Shops

The maximum number of dispensaries allowed may increase from three to five. Read story.

Thursday, January 13, 2011

Pot Shop Approved

Thumbs up for Santa Barbara Patients Group; thumbs down for Compassion Center. Read story.

Thursday, December 23, 2010

County Maintains Status 'No' for Medical Marijuana Shops

With time running out on their emergency moratorium preventing any and all new medical marijuana dispensaries from opening up in the unincorporated areas of the county, Santa Barbara County supervisors voted unanimously this week to extend the de facto ban for another year. Read story.

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

No Due Process

Federal judge sides with Santa Barbara pot shop owners. Read story.

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Marijuana Legalization Supporters: Not Afraid to Talk

Local medical marijuana users show support outside courthouse. Read story.

Monday, November 1, 2010

Signs, Signs, Everywhere There's (No) Signs

Anti-dispensary activists cry foul over the theft of their political lawn ornaments. Read story.

Friday, October 29, 2010

Measure T Is for Total Ban

The future of medical marijuana will be murky no matter what. Read story.

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Second Cannabis Club Sues City

The owner says he's unfairly being put out of business. Read story.

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Cannabis Club Raids Continue

Clubs in S.B. and Goleta hit during this morning's sweep. Read story.

Thursday, October 14, 2010

Burned Sign Backlash

Nava condemns vandalism done to an anti-pot activist's home. Read story.

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Dispensary Owner to Face Trial

Jeff Restivo stands accused of running an illegal pot shop; is being represented by "L.A.'s Dopest Attorney." Read story.

Monday, September 13, 2010
event calendar sponsored by: