WEATHER »

Voices

City College Needs Measure S

Essential upgrades are needed for leaks, safety, and new technology. Read story.

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

How to Make a Million

Most people know that a bicycle can improve your sex life and help save the planet, but did you know a bike can make you rich? Read story.

Monday, August 18, 2014

A Preemptive Measure for Health and Safety

Measure P will head off environmental destruction, water contamination, and health impacts. Read story.

Friday, August 15, 2014

Bikes and Cars

Do enough people commute by bicycle to justify reducing car lanes? Frank Hotchkiss wants to know what you think. Read story.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

'Affirmative Consent' U

New Senate bill reduces 'reasonable doubt' standard to 'preponderance of the evidence' in rape cases. Read story.

Monday, August 11, 2014

Funding Our Future

California's next generation may face lower education attainment than their parents. Read story.

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Former Mayor of Dish, Texas, Speaks Out

Calvin Tillman warned against the expansion of high-risk oil extraction. Read story.

Monday, August 4, 2014

Taxpayers Should Oppose Proposed Fracking Ban

The Central Coast’s energy industry is vital to the economic health of the region — producing thousands of jobs and millions per year in tax revenue. Read story.

Saturday, August 2, 2014

Gang Injunction Denied

After three years of debate and legal battle, the proposed gang injunction bites the dust. Read story.

Thursday, July 31, 2014

We All Need Health Care Now

Medicare's seniors-only coverage was all that Congress would pass in 1965. Sound familiar? Read story.

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Falling to Pieces

The city's Bicycle Master Plan is a wall-papering job to cover up the massive failure of the city's bicycle promotion. Read story.

Monday, July 28, 2014

Germany Awake, America Asleep?

Views on information capital and spying differ across the Atlantic. Read story.

Friday, July 25, 2014

Mission and State in Retrospect

I feel compelled to address the onslaught of unchallenged misinformation regarding Mission and State. Read story.

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Voting Rights for All

Fifty years after the Mississippi Freedom Summer, voting rights are still challenged for people with disabilities. Read story.

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Biking Across Santa Barbara

Is there any way to make Alameda Padre Serra safer for bikes? Read story.

Sunday, July 20, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: