WEATHER »

Voices

An Especially Good Time to Address Climate Change

People are taking action and raising hope — not despair — that we will win the climate war. Read story.

Sunday, June 25, 2017

Time Is Running Out for Carrizo Plain

National monument status threatened for a cherished resource. Read story.

Thursday, June 22, 2017

First 100 Day of Isla Vista's Community Services District

Early days bring policies, procedures, safety patrol advocacy, and an intern staff. Read story.

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Setting the Record Straight on 'Old Spanish Days'

Santa Barbara's historic pride is sometimes misunderstood. Read story.

Saturday, June 17, 2017

Keep the Libraries Open

Libraries are an essential public service and key to a democratic society. Read story.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Fund the Libraries

I was astonished to learn that the county is considering reducing funds for the Carpinteria Library. Read story.

Monday, June 12, 2017

A Different Tongue, a Different View

Graduation brought all families together 'with liberty and justice for all.' Read story.

Friday, June 9, 2017

Comey Coming Up

While we await the inevitable full disclosure of Donald Trump's obstruction of justice … Read story.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

A Modest Proposal to Revive State Street

Why don’t we sentient human beings conspire to reclaim that most central strip of our community? Read story.

Sunday, June 4, 2017

Paris Is Unstoppable

Despite White House, international and state efforts to reduce greenhouse gases continue. Read story.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Former President Obama on Paris Accord

The nations that remain in the Paris Agreement will be the nations that reap the benefits in jobs and industries created. Read story.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Welcome to Hanoi 2005

Decades later, a return to Vietnam brings unexpected gratitude to a U.S. veteran. Read story.

Monday, May 29, 2017

Why Old 'Spanish' Days?

A broader look at the events that Fiesta celebrates. Read story.

Saturday, May 27, 2017

Trump's Censorship of Science

Climate change webpage disappears from EPA; being 'updated.' Read story.

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Sisyphus in Modern Times

A new way to look at rolling the stone. Read story.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: