WEATHER »

Voices

Back Door Prohibition

Santa Barbara County's wine and agriculture industry is under assault by a miniscule number of self-appointed prohibitionists. Read story.

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

The Food Crisis in South Chad

Refugees of Central African Republic violence and returnees to Chad live by the thousands along the border and face food shortages. Read story.

Monday, July 7, 2014

Silent No More

"I felt so helpless and guilty, and I was too embarrassed to tell." Read story.

Sunday, July 6, 2014

Republicans Should Move to Center

The stunning defeat of Eric Cantor and the near victory of Tim Donnelly to oppose Gov. Jerry Brown in November are troubling. Read story.

Friday, July 4, 2014

When Cattledog Meets Poodle

Lucky, being the good cattledog he is, likes to roll around in cowshit, or in this case, bullshit. Read story.

Wednesday, July 2, 2014

The Nexus of Poverty, Education, and Economic Development

Lompoc and Santa Maria account for 85 percent of all county residents living in “high poverty areas.” Read story.

Monday, June 30, 2014

Nothing New in the West

Observing the ugly body language between Putin and Obama at Normandy ceremony. Read story.

Sunday, June 29, 2014

A Catastrophic Failure with Tragic Results

In the wake of the Isla Vista rampage, many citizens are asking why more wasn’t done to prevent the bloodshed. Read story.

Friday, June 27, 2014

The Scandal of State Water Project Privatization

The history of why Montecito is looking at $600 per acre-foot for water. Read story.

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Too Many Moments of Silence

Today marks one month since the tragic violence in Isla Vista. Read story.

Monday, June 23, 2014

A Molecular-Level Argument for Gun Control

Are these frequent rampages a fair price to pay for unfettered access to guns? Read story.

Sunday, June 22, 2014

Kids on Bikes

Bici Centro's summer bicycle camp is accessible to everyone, from private school kids to homeless downtown students. Read story.

Friday, June 20, 2014

Better Care for Cancer Patients

Medicare Care Choices Program is a step in the right direction toward improving quality of care. Read story.

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Where Rail & Road Cross

Santa Barbarans believe road and rail to be of equal value. Read story.

Monday, June 16, 2014

Father’s Day Cards Suck

A lot of trees are wasted to craft $3.95 notes in unimaginative cursive or cartoon script. Read story.

Friday, June 13, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: