WEATHER »

Voices

Of Flags and the Confederacy

The Southern Cross continues to salt the wounds of an old grief. Read story.

Thursday, July 30, 2015

District Elections Come to Santa Barbara

A focus on local issues will help unite city. Read story.

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Oil Trains Pose Unacceptable Health and Safety Risks

This project puts communities at risk and should be firmly rejected. Read story.

Originally published 12:00 a.m., July 24, 2015
Updated 6:02 p.m., July 27, 2015

Chen Verdict: A Former Judge’s Perspective

Court would consider statements of contrition, willingness for treatment, and Probation's observations in deciding dog torture case. Read story.

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Chen Verdict: Justice Well Considered

Judge Hill delivered an impartial verdict, which is what we would all want. Read story.

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

No Justice for Abused Animals

The system, not just one judge, is not working for animals from start to finish. Read story.

Saturday, July 18, 2015

Isla Vista and Baltimore

David Minier recalls the I.V. riots from a DA's perspective. Read story.

Thursday, July 16, 2015

Today the Monsters Won

Santa Barbara Courts condoned animal torture; vigil July 19 at courthouse. Read story.

Monday, July 13, 2015

The Rich Get Richer

Camp 4 is Robin Hood in reverse. Read story.

Saturday, July 11, 2015

California Weighs Gas Turbines or Renewables

State considers new energy grid July 15; citizens can demand renewables. Read story.

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Unfinished Business on Voting Rights for Santa Barbara

Activists propose a fair way to raise voter participation in City Council races. Read story.

Tuesday, July 7, 2015

A Bad Day for Justice

Judge Hill's message is that puppy torture is not a big deal. Read story.

Monday, July 6, 2015

County Has Lost Its Ag Scientists

The Agricultural Commissioner has decimated her scientific staff. Read story.

Sunday, July 5, 2015

Education — Government In/Action

Dyslexia bill, AB 1369, gets gutted by education groups. Read story.

Friday, July 3, 2015

'A Nice Cup of Tea'

Stumpers on the campaign trail should avoid protective stupidity. Read story.

Wednesday, July 1, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: