WEATHER »

Voices

The U.S. and Its Guns: Time for Rehab

Guns should be treated exactly like automobiles. Read story.

Friday, May 11, 2018

'Delay' Is a Double-Edged Sword

Trying to speed the time to trial is counter to the interests of justice for both the accused and the people of the state. Read story.

Thursday, May 10, 2018

'Like-for-Like' Gives Homeowners a Fighting Chance to Rebuild

Support the speedy building of similar homes before the insurance runs out. Read story.

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Santa Barbara Police Make Progress Toward Positive Change

Little to no excess in use of force but department working on de-escalation philosophy. Read story.

Saturday, May 5, 2018

Support Girls’ Mental Health

Important at every stage of life and critical for a young person's success Read story.

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Re-examining the 'Culture of Delay'

Bail amounts and underfunded public defense contribute to prolonged pre-trial incarcerations. Read story.

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Injustice with Each Load

In the wake of Santa Barbara County’s recent disasters, seeing debris flow removal through the lens of environmental justice Read story.

Monday, April 23, 2018

Human Trafficking: It’s Happening in Front of You

Forum hold on how Santa Barbara is easing the threat and fear for victims. Read story.

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Toward Climate Change Resilience

Community-wide conversations are needed to build systems that can recover quickly. Read story.

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Still Working to Make Dr. King’s Dream a Reality

50th Anniversary Commemorating the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Read story.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Wildfire Costs Now Part of Disaster Funding

Congressional leadership preserves Forest Service budgets for non-fire requirements. Read story.

Monday, April 16, 2018

Building a Sense of Urgency on Homelessness

Is Santa Barbara on the precipice of a burgeoning problem? Read story.

Thursday, April 12, 2018

$60 Million and Little to Show for It

Funds to end jail crowding included supportive housing for nonviolent mentally ill persons. Read story.

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Dirges in the Dark

Knowing how available AR-15 like rifles are has added a new level of anxiety whenever I’m at school. Read story.

Saturday, April 7, 2018

Antioch Santa Barbara Founder Recalls University’s Humble Beginnings

Formed by visionary founder Horace Mann in Ohio, Antioch organized a Santa Barbara campus in 1977. Read story.

Thursday, April 5, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: