WEATHER »

Voices

Dark Thoughts on a Dark Matter

Trump's sacking of FBI Director James Comey, the first 100 Days debacles, and Russia issues have excited many to think the end of his incumbency is almost certain. But ... Read story.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Breathless, in a Bad Kind of Way

The City of Santa Barbara passed its smoking ordinance, and for health's sake, I am sincerely grateful. Read story.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Concerns Remain over Wild Horse Support in Federal Budget

Congress indicates support, but the devil is in the details. Read story.

Sunday, May 7, 2017

California's Gun Laws Work

'I have a right not to be shot,' answers those who take the Second. Read story.

Friday, May 5, 2017

Our Unelected Officials

Pruitt’s latest actions exhibit cronyism at its worst. Read story.

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

Stuck in the Gap Between Skyrocketing Rents and No Assistance

More is needed to ensure affordable rentals are provided for this critical "missing middle" sector of our community. Read story.

Monday, May 1, 2017

Dear Baby Boomers Who Deny Climate Change

An open letter from the next generation Read story.

Saturday, April 29, 2017

The Defilement of Democracy

What remains unambiguous today, as it did when Donald Trump took the oath of office, America’s reputation is defiled. Read story.

Saturday, April 29, 2017

First of May Means Union Contracts

Why students and campus workers are rallying on May first. Read story.

Friday, April 28, 2017

Power to the People

It's why I’m marching in the People’s Climate March. Read story.

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Banking on Brilliance

Some people, like Richard Branson, have found dyslexia to be a desirable trait. Read story.

Monday, April 24, 2017

Dawn Patroller Speaks Out

Imposing a long walk to Loon Point makes surfing prohibitive. Read story.

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Advocating Sound Science for Pesticides

EPA's Pruitt should listen to his scientists: chlorpyrifos is bad for humans. Read story.

Friday, April 21, 2017

World-Class Science on the Central Coast

Earth-sensing satellites are world-saving science for future generations. Read story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Former Councilman Weighs In

Gerry DeWitt recounts how Santa Barbara's term limit ordinance was written. Read story.

Monday, April 17, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: