WEATHER »

Outdoors Features

Helping Government Help the Channel Islands

This Friday marks the official launch date of the Channel Islands Sanctuary Foundation. Read story.

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Project Budburst

Fall Into Phenology event is designed to amass as many observations as possible from September 17-26. Read story.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Pome Fruits

Fall is apple and pear season. Read story.

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Ocean Friendly Gardens

Tips and classes for creating sea-safe sea landscapes. Read story.

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Shooting Arrows at Cachuma’s Carp

Fishermen are finding out how fun it is to bow-hunt for a big catch up at Lake Cachuma. Read story.

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Volunteer at Arroyo Hondo Preserve

Help with habitat restoration, then spend an afternoon exploring the preserve’s creeks, vistas, and trails. Read story.

Monday, August 29, 2011

Ahh, Año Nuevo

Even those with aching bones can see the elephant seals fight for superiority at this coastal nature reserve north of Santa Cruz. Read story.

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Search & Rescue’s Got Your Back

One Independent editor's afternoon hike turned into an overnight saga and put her in touch with the county's volunteer wilderness saviors. Read story.

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Lost, Found, Enlisted

How one harrowing hike turned a city girl into a Search & Rescue volunteer. Read story.

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Rebloom

Spent blooms can be removed to make room for the next generation. Read story.

Tuesday, August 2, 2011

Thousands of Young Sea Bass Fill Floating Crib

The pen off Stearns Wharf is part of a fishery restoration program. Read story.

Monday, August 1, 2011

Bixby Being Bad?

Coastal Commission staff hits Gaviota Ranch with notice of violations. Read story.

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Of Rats and Regrowth

Plants and animals rise from the ashes of the S.B. Wildfires. Read story.

Originally published 6:00 a.m., July 25, 2011
Updated 1:00 p.m., July 26, 2011

Teepee Time

Spend some time under the stars, in the creek, and on the zip line at Ventura Ranch KOA. Read story.

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

A Venture into the World’s Most Porous Island

Guides lead kayakers into Santa Cruz Island’s legendary Painted Cave. Read story.

Sunday, July 17, 2011
event calendar sponsored by: