WEATHER »

Outdoors Features

Coyote Dave's Wilderness Wisdom

Learn some great tips for having extra fun in camp and on the trail from an avid backpacker. Read story.

Saturday, July 16, 2011

Broken Dreams, Budding Promises

Naples development dreams evaporating; global preservation group awed by stretch of Gaviota Coast. Read story.

Thursday, June 30, 2011

Making the Los Padres Even More Wild

The proposal would link the existing wildernesses and create Condor Ridge along West Camino Cielo. Read story.

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Uncommon Conifers

Conifers are useful for timber, resins, and edible seeds, of course, but conifers can also fill a number of landscaping uses. Read story.

Monday, June 20, 2011

I'm on a Boat!

Here are some ways to enjoy the waters of Cachuma Lake. Read story.

Monday, June 13, 2011

Poisonous Plants

Create a kid-friendly garden by knowing which flora is harmful if eaten. Read story.

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Ode to Carrizo Plain

A visit to California's Serengeti. Read story.

Thursday, May 19, 2011

Kayaks, Canoes Now Allowed on Lake Cachuma

The park's policy changes are meant to attract more visitors. Read story.

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Endangered Landscapes: The Gaviota Coast

Photographic exhibit of the Gaviota Coast shares images of a vanishing coast. Read story.

Monday, April 4, 2011

Condor Trail, Environmental Awards & Trails Meeting

Trails Council Annual Meeting features Condor Trail, environmental awards and wildflower slideshow. Read story.

Monday, March 7, 2011

Mammoth's 2011 Moves

How everyone's favorite mountain enhanced this winter with a food truck, iPhone app, and more. Read story.

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Outdoor Adventure Porn at Arlington

For the first time ever, UCSB’s Arts & Lectures is bringing the Best of Banff downtown for two nights. 8 Top Outdoor Adventure Flicks Read story.

Sunday, February 20, 2011

In Arizona’s Red Rock Country

In Sedona, high in Arizona’s breathtaking red rock country, McDonald’s arches aren’t golden. Read story.

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Slot Canyon Body Slam

Being trapped by a boulder is far from the only way to get in trouble out there. Read story.

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Knapp's Castle Construction?

Visitors describe seeing equipment, cars, and a motor home at the fabled property. Read story.

Thursday, January 6, 2011
event calendar sponsored by: