WEATHER »

Outdoors Features

Whale-Watching by Air?

Oxnard Airport's Channel Islands Helicopter tours give bird's-eye view of national park and more. Read story.

Monday, December 20, 2010

Baron Ranch Calling All Hikers

County celebrates opening of new Gaviota Coast trail; Camino Cielo connection may be coming. Read story.

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Rancho La Scherpa

Rancho La Scherpa is a wooded retreat that offers both sanctuary and challenges. Read story.

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Hikes, Bikes & Rides Highlight Montecito Trails Foundation's Annual Barbecue

Join Ray and the MTF Board of Directors at one of the year's 'must go' BBQs for outdoor enthusiasts. Read story.

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Beer, Heat and Hiking Lead to SAR Rescue

Too much beer is the cause of this SAR call out. Read story.

Thursday, September 2, 2010

Summer of Search and Rescue

The recent spike in trail incidents is a cause for concern. Read story.

Monday, August 30, 2010

Holding On to a Historic Trail

A group is rallying to save Matilija Falls from closing to the public. Read story.

Monday, August 2, 2010

Adventure Is Their Middle Name

A Santa Barbara outdoor excursion company is offering Channel Island sea cave tours. Read story.

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Stream Team Comes Through

Powered by creek-loving volunteers, decade-old program detects pollutants, identifies sources. Read story.

Monday, July 19, 2010

Solstice 2010 — A Carnival Celebration

Ray shares images from today's Solstice Parade, a colorful spectacle featuring an unbelievable ending. Read story.

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Comforts of Home in the Great Outdoors

Vacation Trailers 2 U delivers luxury to the campgrounds of Santa Barbara County. Read story.

Thursday, June 10, 2010

Blue and Green 2010

Our annual ode to the great outdoors. Read story.

Thursday, May 13, 2010

To Kayak Our Adventurous Isles

Channel Islands National Park presents both pleasure and pain for paddling outfitters. Read story.

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Plotting a 300-Mile Trail Through Our Backyard

Condor Trail to follow endangered species’ ancient flyway. Read story.

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Nature’s Mighty Yaup!

Springtime musings on the foothills of our delight. Read story.

Thursday, May 13, 2010
event calendar sponsored by: