WEATHER »

Outdoors

Welcome to the Jungle

Filmmaker Morgan Maassen goes around the world in 17 minutes. Read story.

Friday, November 17, 2017

Congressman Salud Carbajal and Senator Kamala Harris Introduce Central Coast Heritage Act

Seeks wilderness designation for 250,000 acres of public land. Read story.

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Bodysurfer Defends World Title in Oceanside

Former lifeguard finds competitive fun at annual championships. Read story.

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Striped Bass in Southern California

The fish was spotted in the shallows chasing a one-ounce lure. Read story.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Gear Guide: Patagonia Sleeping Bag and Cinch Pack

New offerings from the outdoor giant emphasize comfort and durability. Read story.

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Kayaking San Miguel Island

The rewards of visiting a seldom-seen land by sea. Read story.

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Hiking Yosemite’s Pohono Trail

A perfect Valley overnight or day-hike for solitude. Read story.

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Hike up to Sheep Camp from Lockwood Valley

This gradual ascent through sacred lands is a great weekender. Read story.

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Camp Out at Cachuma

Lake Cachuma Recreation Area bubbles to life after rainy winter. Read story.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Giant Kangaroo Rats: Little Drummers of the Carrizo Plain

This is a keystone species of a special place. Read story.

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Truth Along the Camino de Santiago

Hiking through sacred Spanish mountains in our 60s. Read story.

Thursday, May 25, 2017

White Ledge–Hurricane Deck Loop for the Weekend Warrior

An overnight not for the faint of heart, in the heart of the San Rafael Wilderness. Read story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Going for a Hike?

Line 5 takes bus riders to the beach and beyond. Read story.

Saturday, April 1, 2017

Exploring Golden Canyon in Death Valley National Park

The Gower Gulch loop is one of the park’s best hikes. Read story.

Saturday, March 18, 2017

Where to Catch the Best Wildflowers

Get full-bloom fever on Anacapa Island, Guadalupe Dunes, and Figueroa Mountain. Read story.

Monday, February 13, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: