WEATHER »

The Santa Barbara Questionnaire

As head of the film festival for the past decade, Roger Durling encounters many of Santa Barbara's familiar faces every day. In this series of short, insightful interviews, which will run on Independent.com every Monday morning, he introduces us to some of the more interesting people who live and/or work in our fair town, showing off the personal side of newsmakers, politicians, artists, and many other proud Santa Barbarians.

The S.B. Questionnaire: Amy DiGregorio

Talking hard work and creativity with the handbag and jewelry designer. Read story.

Monday, February 13, 2017

The S.B. Questionnaire: Barbara Hirsch

Chatting music and yoga with the multitasking business owner and recording engineer. Read story.

Monday, February 6, 2017

The S.B. Questionnaire: Laurence Hauben

Chatting food and ingredients with the chef, writer, and owner of Market Forays. Read story.

Monday, January 30, 2017

The S.B. Questionnaire: Lorraine Rowden Neenan

Talking early education with the director of children’s services for the Community Action Commission. Read story.

Monday, January 23, 2017

The S.B. Questionnaire: Steve Ortiz

Talking community with the president of the United Way of Santa Barbara County. Read story.

Monday, January 16, 2017

The S.B. Questionnaire: Ken Saxon

Talking nonprofit success and self-care with the creator of Leadership From Within. Read story.

Monday, January 9, 2017

The S.B. Questionnaire: Paul Wellman

Talking pictures big and small with The Independent’s longtime photographer. Read story.

Monday, January 2, 2017

The S.B. Questionnaire: Lisa Amador

Talking relationships and honesty with the owner of Santa Barbara Matchmaking. Read story.

Monday, December 26, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Raissa Smorol

Chatting education with the development director of the Santa Barbara Scholarship Foundation. Read story.

Monday, December 19, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Hugh Margerum

Talking art and time with the renaissance man behind the Presidio Neighborhood. Read story.

Monday, December 12, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: David Fortson

Saving the world with the founder of LoaTree and LoaCom Read story.

Monday, December 5, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Mimi DeGruy

Talking about Mike DeGruy with his widow, Mimi DeGruy, who’s making a film about his love for oceans. Read story.

Monday, November 28, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Frederick Janka

Talking artistic power with the development director of the Museum of Contemporary Art. Read story.

Monday, November 21, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Deja Re

Talking transgender issues and more with the entertainer and advocate. Read story.

Monday, November 14, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Tyler Tomblin

Chatting niceness and apathy with the co-owner of Stagecoach Wine Tours. Read story.

Monday, November 7, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: