WEATHER »

The Santa Barbara Questionnaire

As head of the film festival for the past decade, Roger Durling encounters many of Santa Barbara's familiar faces every day. In this series of short, insightful interviews, which will run on Independent.com every Monday morning, he introduces us to some of the more interesting people who live and/or work in our fair town, showing off the personal side of newsmakers, politicians, artists, and many other proud Santa Barbarians.

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jason Baker

Talking health and happiness with the Founder of Fitness 805. Read story.

Sunday, May 1, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Karen Lytle

Talking about singing and more with the founder of Santa Barbara Voice Academy. Read story.

Sunday, April 24, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Robin Elander

Talking surf, sunshine, and idealism with Summer Solstice’s new executive director. Read story.

Sunday, April 17, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jessica Foster

Talking chocolates and sweet success with Santa Barbara’s own Willy Wonka. Read story.

Sunday, April 10, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Anthony Carroccio

Talking compassion and corn with the director of the Organic Soup Kitchen. Read story.

Sunday, April 3, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Emily K. Benaron

Breathing and stretching with the Yoga Soup teacher and well-being coach. Read story.

Sunday, March 27, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Robert Mendez

Chatting with the best nightlife promoter in Santa Barbara. Read story.

Sunday, March 20, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Crescent Kirby LoMonaco

Talking centipedes, Eddie Van Halen, and Wonder Woman with Summerland’s hair guru. Read story.

Sunday, March 13, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Nick Ware

Talking pace, stretching, and health with one of Bob Cooley’s lead trainers. Read story.

Sunday, March 6, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Eric Nagelmann

Talking travel and party outfits with Santa Barbara’s master landscape artist. Read story.

Sunday, February 28, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jay Schwartz

On creativity, tastebuds, and cross-country life with the founder of IdeaWork Studios. Read story.

Sunday, February 21, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jarrod Schwartz

Talking justice and social change with the executive director of Just Communities Central Coast. Read story.

Sunday, February 14, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Harlene Conlin

Talking video and family business with the cofounder of YTS Films. Read story.

Sunday, February 7, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Cyndi Silverman

Talking positivity with the regional director of the Anti-Defamation League, which hosts an event this Wednesday. Read story.

Monday, February 1, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Dr. Ron Robertson

Chatting friends and fears with my mountain bike-riding, stand up paddleboarding dentist. Read story.

Sunday, January 24, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: