WEATHER »

The Santa Barbara Questionnaire

As head of the film festival for the past decade, Roger Durling encounters many of Santa Barbara's familiar faces every day. In this series of short, insightful interviews, which will run on Independent.com every Monday morning, he introduces us to some of the more interesting people who live and/or work in our fair town, showing off the personal side of newsmakers, politicians, artists, and many other proud Santa Barbarians.

The S.B. Questionnaire: Marla McNally Phillips

Going way in with the music publishing maven and supporter of the arts. Read story.

Monday, September 22, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Chadillac Green

Quick hits with Chad Westmoreland, the muralist, DJ, and tattoo artist originally from Kansas City. Read story.

Monday, September 15, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Maya Schoop Rutten

Talking sweet and savory with the owner of Chocolate Maya. Read story.

Monday, September 8, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Carolyn Butcher

Speaking to an English lit expert who really knows how to talk. Read story.

Monday, September 1, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Randy Rowse

Introspection and humor with the Paradise Café owner and Santa Barbara city councilmember. Read story.

Monday, August 25, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Marge Cafarelli

Making a difference with the Santa Barbara Public Market’s developer extraordinaire. Read story.

Monday, August 18, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jim Armstrong

Santa Barbara’s retiring city administrator reflects. Read story.

Monday, August 11, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Bill Rosen

Chatting life with the New York transplant who runs the Goleta Water Board. Read story.

Monday, August 4, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Annmarie Rogers

Probing the Swedish mind of the face of the Santa Barbara Visitor’s Center. Read story.

Monday, July 28, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Diego Barbieri

Talking food, life, and greencards with the Brazilian co-owner of Arlington Tavern. Read story.

Monday, July 21, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Monica Spear

Getting strong, smart, and bold with the leader of Girls Inc. of Santa Barbara. Read story.

Monday, July 14, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Irwin Eve

Seeing eye to eye with the owner of Occhiali Eyewear in Montecito. Read story.

Monday, July 7, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jeff Theimer

Talking music and festivals with the co-founder of New Noise Santa Barbara. Read story.

Monday, June 30, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Gwen Stauffer

Gabbing gardens and more with the guru of Montecito’s Lotusland. Read story.

Monday, June 23, 2014

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jennifer Freed

Checking in with the cofounder of AHA! Read story.

Monday, June 16, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: