WEATHER »

The Santa Barbara Questionnaire

As head of the film festival for the past decade, Roger Durling encounters many of Santa Barbara's familiar faces every day. In this series of short, insightful interviews, which will run on Independent.com every Monday morning, he introduces us to some of the more interesting people who live and/or work in our fair town, showing off the personal side of newsmakers, politicians, artists, and many other proud Santa Barbarians.

The S.B. Questionnaire: Spencer Barnitz

Talking music, the Mesa, and human nature with Spencer the Gardener. Read story.

Monday, October 15, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Nir Kabaretti

Talking music and cufflinks with the music and artistic director of the Santa Barbara Symphony. Read story.

Monday, October 8, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Natalie D-Napoleon

Talking writing and new life with the Australian singer, songwriter, and poet. Read story.

Monday, October 1, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Kathi King

Talking new careers with the Community Environmental Council’s outreach and education director. Read story.

Friday, September 21, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jeremy Sewell

Talking fine dining and good wine with the general manager of Oliver’s in Montecito. Read story.

Sunday, September 16, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Caroline Diani

Talking Kenya and bicoastal life with the founder of DIANI Boutique. Read story.

Sunday, September 9, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Sarah Holt Mullins

Talking ballsy women and ranch life with the winemaker for Rancho Sisquoc Winery. Read story.

Sunday, September 2, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Anahi Mendoza

Talking asylum and ambition with the executive director of the Immigrant Legal Defense Center. Read story.

Monday, August 27, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Andrea O’Donnell

Talking Liverpool and desire with the president of fashion lifestyle at Deckers Brands. Read story.

Monday, August 20, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Toine Overgaag

Talking flowers and family with the owner of Westerlay Orchids. Read story.

Sunday, August 12, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Perry Lang

Talking faith and humor with the actor and director of An Interview with God. Read story.

Monday, August 6, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Denise Sanford

Talking Old Spanish Days with La Presidenta of Santa Barbara’s 94th Fiesta Read story.

Friday, July 27, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Katie Grassini

Talking Happy Canyon and Santa Barbara wine with the CEO of Grassini Family Vineyards. Read story.

Friday, July 20, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Bob Lovejoy

Sipping martinis with the owner of the Three Pickles Deli and the Pickle Room. Read story.

Friday, July 13, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Dr. Michael Fisher

Talking survival and aging with Cottage Hospital’s co-director of acute dialysis. Read story.

Monday, July 9, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: