WEATHER »

The Santa Barbara Questionnaire

As head of the film festival for the past decade, Roger Durling encounters many of Santa Barbara's familiar faces every day. In this series of short, insightful interviews, which will run on Independent.com every Monday morning, he introduces us to some of the more interesting people who live and/or work in our fair town, showing off the personal side of newsmakers, politicians, artists, and many other proud Santa Barbarians.

The S.B. Questionnaire: Dr. Mark Surrey

Talking fertility with the director of the Southern California Reproductive Center. Read story.

Monday, June 18, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: David Sigman

Chatting bookend impressions with the general manager of the Santa Barbara Polo Club. Read story.

Monday, June 11, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Alan Macy

Talking collaboration with the founder of BIOPAC Systems and SBCAST. Read story.

Monday, June 4, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Alejandro Medina

Bibi Ji's general manager dishes on passion, energy, and his greatest fear. Read story.

Monday, May 28, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Marsha Bailey

Talking empowerment with the founder of Women’s Economic Ventures. Read story.

Monday, May 21, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Misty Orman

Living life to the fullest with the cocktail bar owner and child hand model. Read story.

Monday, May 14, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Skip Abed

Talking civic pride and chartering boats with the owner of Santa Barbara Sailing Center. Read story.

Monday, May 7, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Karina Jougla

Talking nonprofits and possibilities with an inspiring young woman. Read story.

Monday, April 30, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Thomas Rollerson

Talking healing with the founder of The Dream Foundation. Read story.

Monday, April 23, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Robin Gose

Inspiring science with the new head of MOXI, The Wolf Museum of Exploration + Innovation Read story.

Monday, April 16, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Max Drucker

Chatting empathy and gadgets with the entrepreneur behind Carpe Data and Social Intelligence. Read story.

Monday, April 9, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Kirsten McLaughlin

Talking big bugs and community service with the market vice president for Cox Communications. Read story.

Monday, April 2, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: John Zant

Talking women in sports and coast walking with the veteran sportswriter Read story.

Monday, March 26, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Paul Shields

Talking espresso and the green flash with the owner of Savoy Café and Savoy Wines. Read story.

Monday, March 19, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Kathleen Sharp

Talking greed and fun hogs with the bestselling author and investigative journalist Read story.

Monday, January 8, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: