WEATHER »

The Santa Barbara Questionnaire

As head of the film festival for the past decade, Roger Durling encounters many of Santa Barbara's familiar faces every day. In this series of short, insightful interviews, which will run on Independent.com every Monday morning, he introduces us to some of the more interesting people who live and/or work in our fair town, showing off the personal side of newsmakers, politicians, artists, and many other proud Santa Barbarians.

The S.B. Questionnaire: Toine Overgaag

Talking flowers and family with the owner of Westerlay Orchids. Read story.

Sunday, August 12, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Perry Lang

Talking faith and humor with the actor and director of An Interview with God. Read story.

Monday, August 6, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Denise Sanford

Talking Old Spanish Days with La Presidenta of Santa Barbara’s 94th Fiesta Read story.

Friday, July 27, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Katie Grassini

Talking Happy Canyon and Santa Barbara wine with the CEO of Grassini Family Vineyards. Read story.

Friday, July 20, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Bob Lovejoy

Sipping martinis with the owner of the Three Pickles Deli and the Pickle Room. Read story.

Friday, July 13, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Dr. Michael Fisher

Talking survival and aging with Cottage Hospital’s co-director of acute dialysis. Read story.

Monday, July 9, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jace Turner

Talking poems and typewriters with Santa Barbara’s community relations librarian. Read story.

Monday, July 2, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Suzanne Peck

Talking social justice with the educator, author, and force behind Pass the Mic. Read story.

Monday, June 25, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Dr. Mark Surrey

Talking fertility with the director of the Southern California Reproductive Center. Read story.

Monday, June 18, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: David Sigman

Chatting bookend impressions with the general manager of the Santa Barbara Polo Club. Read story.

Monday, June 11, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Alan Macy

Talking collaboration with the founder of BIOPAC Systems and SBCAST. Read story.

Monday, June 4, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Alejandro Medina

Bibi Ji's general manager dishes on passion, energy, and his greatest fear. Read story.

Monday, May 28, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Marsha Bailey

Talking empowerment with the founder of Women’s Economic Ventures. Read story.

Monday, May 21, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Misty Orman

Living life to the fullest with the cocktail bar owner and child hand model. Read story.

Monday, May 14, 2018

The S.B. Questionnaire: Skip Abed

Talking civic pride and chartering boats with the owner of Santa Barbara Sailing Center. Read story.

Monday, May 7, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: