WEATHER »

The Santa Barbara Questionnaire

As head of the film festival for the past decade, Roger Durling encounters many of Santa Barbara's familiar faces every day. In this series of short, insightful interviews, which will run on Independent.com every Monday morning, he introduces us to some of the more interesting people who live and/or work in our fair town, showing off the personal side of newsmakers, politicians, artists, and many other proud Santa Barbarians.

The S.B. Questionnaire: Chris Casebeer

Considering life, death, and work with the legendary athlete and realtor. Read story.

Monday, June 27, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Donna Barranco Fisher

Talking kids and overcoming hardship with the executive director of Storyteller Children’s Center. Read story.

Monday, June 20, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Chuck Flacks

Chatting radness and sadness with the head of the Central Coast Collaborative On Homeless. Read story.

Monday, June 13, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jeff Olsson

Talking dogs, bacon, carols, and culpability with the chef-owner of Industrial Eats. Read story.

Monday, June 6, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jill Remy

Chatting events, cat ladies, and littles with Santa Barbara’s wedding planner extraordinaire. Read story.

Sunday, May 29, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Dr. John Keating

Talking optimism and anesthesia with the medical director of Sansum’s Foothill Surgery Center. Read story.

Sunday, May 22, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Kenny Osehan

Talking Speedy Gonzales and green lights with the motelier and co-founder of the Shelter Social Club. Read story.

Sunday, May 15, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Ernesto Paredes

Talking truth, service, and diphthongs with the executive director of Easy Lift. Read story.

Sunday, May 8, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jason Baker

Talking health and happiness with the Founder of Fitness 805. Read story.

Sunday, May 1, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Karen Lytle

Talking about singing and more with the founder of Santa Barbara Voice Academy. Read story.

Sunday, April 24, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Robin Elander

Talking surf, sunshine, and idealism with Summer Solstice’s new executive director. Read story.

Sunday, April 17, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Jessica Foster

Talking chocolates and sweet success with Santa Barbara’s own Willy Wonka. Read story.

Sunday, April 10, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Anthony Carroccio

Talking compassion and corn with the director of the Organic Soup Kitchen. Read story.

Sunday, April 3, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Emily K. Benaron

Breathing and stretching with the Yoga Soup teacher and well-being coach. Read story.

Sunday, March 27, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Robert Mendez

Chatting with the best nightlife promoter in Santa Barbara. Read story.

Sunday, March 20, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: