WEATHER »

The Santa Barbara Questionnaire

As head of the film festival for the past decade, Roger Durling encounters many of Santa Barbara's familiar faces every day. In this series of short, insightful interviews, which will run on Independent.com every Monday morning, he introduces us to some of the more interesting people who live and/or work in our fair town, showing off the personal side of newsmakers, politicians, artists, and many other proud Santa Barbarians.

The S.B. Questionnaire: David Starkey

Talking writing and publishing with Santa Barbara’s gentle poet and professor. Read story.

Monday, September 26, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Brannan Mason

Talking headphones, generosity, and flakiness with the co-founder of Noble Audio. Read story.

Monday, September 19, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Monica Orozco

Chatting history and change with Old Mission Santa Barbara’s executive director. Read story.

Monday, September 12, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Michal Wiesbrock

Talking shopping and Barbra Streisand with the Arthritis Foundation Central Coast director. Read story.

Monday, September 5, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Kim Davis

Talking personal rebirth and child advocacy with the executive director of CASA. Read story.

Monday, August 29, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Neal Graffy

Collecting artifacts and stories with Santa Barbara’s esteemed historian, author, and lecturer. Read story.

Monday, August 22, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Steve Windhager

Talking native plants and conservation with the executive director of the S.B. Botanic Garden. Read story.

Monday, August 15, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Sharon Byrne

Chatting with the executive director of the Milpas Community Association. Read story.

Monday, August 8, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Robert Traner-McDermott

Getting to know the longtime teacher and lead singer of Tequila Mockingbird. Read story.

Monday, August 1, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Dan Fontaine

Talking nature and froofy beer with the executive director of the Wilderness Youth Project. Read story.

Monday, July 25, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Ashleigh Davis

Talking with Montecito Bank & Trust's community outreach coordinator. Read story.

Monday, July 18, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: York Shingle

Chatting with the cabinet maker who doubles as roller derby’s Lady Faga. Read story.

Monday, July 11, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Bob Lovejoy

Sipping martinis with the owner of the Three Pickles Deli and the Pickle Room. Read story.

Monday, July 4, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Chris Casebeer

Considering life, death, and work with the legendary athlete and realtor. Read story.

Monday, June 27, 2016

The S.B. Questionnaire: Donna Barranco Fisher

Talking kids and overcoming hardship with the executive director of Storyteller Children’s Center. Read story.

Monday, June 20, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: