WEATHER »

independent.com/sbcc

City College $9 Million in Debt

The new Campus Center project is now on hold. Read story.

Thursday, October 27, 2016

Community Survey Takes City College's Temperature

New president gauging school's strengths and weaknesses, real and perceived. Read story.

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

City Proposes Expansion of Mesa Parking Permit Program

Some neighbors complain SBCC students are eating up off-campus spaces. Read story.

Saturday, June 4, 2016

SBCC’s Running Start Gives Glimpses of a Higher Self

The empowerment program aims at high school grads who weren’t considering college. Read story.

Thursday, May 5, 2016

City College Pledges Two Free Years for S.B. Grads

The SBCC Promise looks to repair rifts in community relations. Read story.

Thursday, May 5, 2016

SBCC Picks New President

Dr. Anthony Beebe comes from San Diego City College. Read story.

Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Noise Ordinance Introduced

City Council responds to complaints from City College neighbors. Read story.

Thursday, January 28, 2016

‘Get Focused, Stay Focused’ Hosts Conference at SBCC

Former City College Dean presents high school career planning program to educators. Read story.

Friday, January 8, 2016

Mesa Street Parking Reserved for Residents

SBCC students were monopolizing the spots. Read story.

Thursday, December 10, 2015

SBCC Ranks High in UC Transfers

Ranked #6 out of 113 community colleges statewide. Read story.

Thursday, December 10, 2015

Tempest in a Teepee at SBCC

Art project removed after complaints from Native American students. Read story.

Monday, March 16, 2015

HS Freshmen Encouraged to Plan for College, Careers

'Get Focused...Stay Focused' program puts kids on tracks to success early on. Read story.

Monday, January 12, 2015

City College Mending Fences with Neighbors?

Looks to Cal Poly for strategies to dealing with unruly students. Read story.

Thursday, November 13, 2014

S.B. School District Endorses Measure S

In a somewhat unprecedented move, the Santa Barbara Unified School District board unanimously endorsed Measure S, the $288 million Santa Barbara City College facilities bond. Read story.

Thursday, October 16, 2014

City College's Sprawling Impact

Democrats flip-flop for Measure S. Read story.

Thursday, October 9, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: