WEATHER »

Sports - Features

John McCutcheon’s Gaucho Dreams

Talking facilities and the future with UCSB’s new athletic director. Read story.

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Soccer Season’s Balancing Act

Shooting for success as players come and go in youth and college soccer. Read story.

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Going BuzzFeed on Bill Bertka

Top eight things you never knew about the 88-year-old Lakers coach from Santa Barbara. Read story.

Thursday, August 13, 2015

Britain’s Coxless Crew Berth in Santa Barbara

Four women row across Pacific for charity, berth in Santa Barbara Read story.

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Special Olympics World Games Underway in Los Angeles

Santa Barbara gives a warm welcome to visiting athletes from Central America and the Caribbean. Read story.

Thursday, July 30, 2015

James O’Mahoney Named to Skateboarding Hall of Fame

Curator of Santa Barbara Surfing Museum inducted into Simi Valley hall as icon. Read story.

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Special Olympians Carry 'Flame of Hope' Through Santa Barbara

S.B. softball player Lamarcus Briggs to play in Los Angeles World Games on Saturday. Read story.

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Tremendous Trio of Triathlons

Swim, bike, and run to glory in Goleta, Santa Barbara, and Carpinteria. Read story.

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Dan Goldie Returns to Championship Tennis

Former Wimbledon quarterfinalist excels at Santa Barbara Tennis Club tourney. Read story.

Thursday, July 16, 2015

Goldie Comes Up Gold in Senior Men's Tennis

Former pro star wins singles and doubles titles in National Men's 50 Championships on Santa Barbara courts. Read story.

Saturday, July 11, 2015

Introducing Mr. and Mrs. Semana Nautica

Competitive couple Ed Smith and Becky Glusac tie the knot, keep racing together. Read story.

Thursday, July 9, 2015

On Women Athletes and Semana Nautica

World Cup and beach volleyball tourney grow respect for women’s sports; plus heptathlete Barbara Nwaba fifth best in world. Read story.

Thursday, July 2, 2015

Foresters Find Spunk in Hitting Coach Dmitri Young

Former Major Leaguer now serving as “hype man” for Santa Barbara’s semipro baseballers. Read story.

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Can Mia Fisher Turn Gaucho Hoops Around?

Former UCSB star hired as assistant by new women’s coach Bonnie Henrickson. Read story.

Thursday, June 18, 2015

‘Silky’ Erica Schroeder Surprises with State Championship

San Marcos High runner wins 800 meters; plus State Street Mile, soccer near and far, and Dillon Tate drafted. Read story.

Thursday, June 11, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: