WEATHER »

Sports - Features

Santa Barbara’s World Cup Referee

Frank Anderson rises from Midland School and Dwight Murphy Field to calling soccer’s top matches. Read story.

Monday, July 9, 2018

Santa Barbara Shines in Western States 100-Miler

Endurance runners Kris Brown, Nick Presniakov, Dave Odell, and Kate Elliott tackle the Sierra. Read story.

Monday, July 2, 2018

Foresters Fire Up the Summer Ball

Santa Barbara semi-pro team starts undefeated; plus, Mexico’s big World Cup win. Read story.

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Where to Watch the World Cup

How to have fun watching soccer in Santa Barbara even without Team USA Read story.

Thursday, June 14, 2018


World Cup Dreamin' – Russia 2018

A long-suffering England fan wishes and hopes once again. Read story.

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Drew Edelman Earns Second Golden Eagle Ring

UCSB basketballer achieves top athlete GPA; plus, track & field and the State Street Mile Read story.

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Santa Barbara’s Comeback Kids

Three high school teams make miraculous, late-inning wins. Read story.

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Legalized Gambling, Triple Crowns, and Sure Things

On sports wagers, sentimental horses, and why to bet on Justify. Read story.

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Egan Bernal Conquers Gibraltar Road

Colombian kid riding for Team Sky wins Santa Barbara’s Stage 2 of the Amgen Tour. Read story.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Amgen Tour Tackles Gibraltar Road 


Pro cyclists to end Stage 2 with seven-mile, 3,100-foot climb on May 14. Read story.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Clean Baseball Between Dos Pueblos and Santa Barbara High

Report from great series last week; plus college baseball, tennis, track, and more. Read story.

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Chia the Corolla

Francisco “Chia” Santana goes from Primo Boxing to fighting against the world’s best. Read story.

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Four Runners Break Four-Minute Mile

Plus, marathon record broken, Special Olympics coming, and Hoop Star moves Read story.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Breaking the Four-Minute Mile

SBCC’s La Playa Stadium hosts four elite running races Friday night. Read story.

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Runners Rule at The Red Piano Bar

Guest bartenders serve up fundraiser; plus basketball awards and Gaucho Hall of Fame. Read story.

Wednesday, April 4, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: