Sports - Features

Hitting Hurdles Fast and Fresh

Santa Barbara High’s Natasha Feshbach leaps toward the state track-and-field finals. Read story.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

France’s Julian Alaphilippe Takes Queen Stage of Amgen Tour

Hundreds of hometown fans lined Gibraltar Road for a grueling Stage 3 of the California race. Read story.

Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Who Will Conquer the Amgen Tour’s Queen Stage?

Cyclists fear Gibraltar Road in next week’s race through California. Read story.

Thursday, May 12, 2016

Prep Softball in Full Swing

The San Marcos and Dos Pueblos rivalry flares up, plus Jim Barber memories, UCSB wins, and more. Read story.

Thursday, May 5, 2016

Wine Country Half Marathon This Weekend

Race tips from last year’s winner, Ramiro "Curly" Guillen, a Goleta resident. Read story.

Monday, May 2, 2016

Gaucho Hall of Fame Welcoming Volleyball and Soccer Stars

Induction ceremony on April 30 honors ‘74 spikers, ‘06 strikers, and others. Read story.

Thursday, April 28, 2016

Prep Baseball Gets Heated

San Marcos, Santa Barbara, and Dos Pueblos high schools battle for postseason dreams. Read story.

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Right Moves @ Nite Moves

Santa Barbara’s annual shorefront summer sunset race series kicks off May 4. Read story.

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Kobe’s Last Stand

Saying good-bye to the Laker great; plus Bertka’s tendon, big moves for UCSB alumni, and more. Read story.

Thursday, April 14, 2016

Couple Eyes Olympic Gold

Read about Ashton Eaton, Brianne Theisen-Eaton, Barbara Nwaba, Vin Scully, Amber Melgoza, and more. Read story.

Thursday, April 7, 2016

UCSB Baseball Sports Whiskers and Wins

Gauchos win 3-1 against USC and UCLA; U.S. Women's Water Polo goes to Rio. Read story.

Thursday, March 31, 2016

Erica Schroeder Eyes State Record

San Marcos High runner aims for 2:03 800-meter; plus more track-and-field news. Read story.

Thursday, March 24, 2016

Bieber the Ace of UCSB's Pitching Staff

Junior right-hander will start series opener against USC. Read story.

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Dons’ Dominating Hoops Year Comes to Close

S.B. High’s great season and greater people; plus Westmont, hockey, game of week, and more. Read story.

Thursday, March 17, 2016

Red Wine for Dodger Blue

Bob Lindquist of Qupé crafts syrah and chardonnay for L.A.’s boys of summer. Read story.

Thursday, March 10, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: