WEATHER »

Sports - Features

Four Runners Break Four-Minute Mile

Plus, marathon record broken, Special Olympics coming, and Hoop Star moves Read story.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Breaking the Four-Minute Mile

SBCC’s La Playa Stadium hosts four elite running races Friday night. Read story.

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Runners Rule at The Red Piano Bar

Guest bartenders serve up fundraiser; plus basketball awards and Gaucho Hall of Fame. Read story.

Wednesday, April 4, 2018

Santa Barbara Grunion Rugby Turns 40

Plus the joy of hustling, the 10 best Dodgers, Coach James Ranta’s legacy, and the triathlon on hiatus. Read story.

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Gaucho Baseball Is Struggling

Plus March Madness report, exodus of UCSB women’s basketballers, surfing, and rugby. Read story.

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Wild Winter of Winning Ends Mostly in Losses

Santa Barbara’s high school and college teams did better than ever, but struggled at very end. Read story.

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

January Sadness to March Madness

How Santa Barbara teams progressed with poise and purpose this season. Read story.

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Royals Win Water Polo Championship

San Marcos High girls’ team defeats Dos Pueblos; boys’ basketball team aims for title too. Read story.

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

San Marcos Girls Beat Dos Pueblos in Water Polo

Royals pull out victory over Chargers to win CIF title Saturday night. Read story.

Monday, February 26, 2018

Soccer Stars Converge at Harder Stadium

Former Gauchos, now pros on L.A. Galaxy, energize UCSB’s College Cup hopes. Read story.

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

San Marcos Hoopsters Head to CIF

Royals captured the Channel League boys’ basketball championship last week. Read story.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Max Heidegger Keeping Gauchos Undefeated at Home

Son of Austrian skier leads the Big West in scoring; plus Women in Sports and Galaxy soccer. Read story.

Wednesday, February 7, 2018

SBIFF’s Sporty Side

Films about tennis, fencing, basketball, and marathons screening this year. Read story.

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Big Crowds for Big Games

High school soccer, UCSB basketball, and who’s talking at the Women in Sports luncheon. Read story.

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Swimming Star Narrowly Survives Montecito Mudslide

How the slides are affecting Santa Barbara’s sports community. Read story.

Originally published 12:00 p.m., January 17, 2018
Updated 6:44 p.m., January 18, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: