WEATHER »

Sports - John Zant

Gridiron Showdown

Everything that is exciting, dangerous, frightening, inspiring, and heartbreaking about football came into play last Friday night. Read story.

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Fall Sports Review

Find out where UCSB and Westmont’s men’s and women’s teams are in the season standings. Read story.

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

UCSB Men’s Soccer

The Gauchos were back on track — recipients of a No. 10 seeding in the 48-team NCAA tournament. Read story.

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

S.B. International Marathon

Runners converge in town to run in the fifth annual race from Goleta to Shoreline Read story.

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Elisa Karhu Shatters Women’s Marathon Record

The 21-year-old pre-med student finished the Select Staffing Santa Barbara Veterans Marathon in 2:42:42. Read story.

Monday, November 11, 2013

Same Dream, Same Game

Special-needs athletes take the field; Veterans Marathon this weekend. Read story.

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Gridiron Glory

John Zant celebrates the golden anniversary of his CIF-winning high school football team. Read story.

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

UCSB Women’s Tennis Coach Makes National News

A story in the New York Times revealed that Simon Thibodeau, the second-year coach of UCSB’s women’s tennis team, is gay. Read story.

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Quieting the Limbic Lizard

Sports psychologist Steve Smith says let your inner robot take over in high-anxiety situations. Read story.

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Weekend Sports Roundup

I crisscrossed town last weekend to sample a bounty of games — real, live games played by real people in the great outdoors. Read story.

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Madness on the Sand: Upset Spices AVP Tournament

Dalhausser and Rosenthal drop first match, will have to claw through contender's bracket. Read story.

Saturday, September 28, 2013

AVP Beach Volleyball

The annual tournament brings out some of the biggest hitters in beach volleyball. Read story.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

West Coast Roundup

Seattle fans go crazy for their sports teams and S.B. athletes start seasons strong. Read story.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Gaucho Soccer

UCSB men’s soccer focuses on teamwork and making it to the NCAA tournament. Read story.

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

UCSB Women’s Volleyball

The lady Gauchos start their season with a new coach and the NCAA in their sights. Read story.

Wednesday, August 28, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: