WEATHER »

Television

RuPaul’s Drag Race Enlivens the Stage

Season 9’s dizzying variety of personalities and styles mix artistic fervor with dazzling showmanship, once again. Read story.

Thursday, April 13, 2017

‘The Detour’ Hits Home

Samantha Bee’s sitcom creation is a shamelessly irreverent and salty fun twist-up on the TV family genre. Read story.

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

‘Feud: Bette and Joan’ Premiers on FX

Ryan Murphy explores the rivalry between Bette Davis and Joan Crawford in new TV anthology. Read story.

Thursday, March 9, 2017

A Look at ‘Big Little Lies’

Playground becomes battleground in HBO’s limited series. Read story.

Friday, March 3, 2017

‘The Young Pope’: A Perversely Enjoyable Romp

Dark wit and kitschy melodramatic detachment keep ‘The Young Pope’ from being taken seriously. Read story.

Thursday, February 2, 2017

‘Rectify’: Southern-Gothic-Flavored Family Saga

The Sundance channel series takes TV to unexpected places. Read story.

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Stand-up Comedy for Gray Winter Days and Nights

Tig Notaro, Michael Che, and others crack wise about politics and personal experiences on Netflix. Read story.

Thursday, January 5, 2017

Murder Mysteries from Across the Pond

Some of the best crime dramas on TV come from Britain. Read story.

Thursday, December 22, 2016

‘Soundbreaking: Stories from the Cutting Edge of Recorded Music’

PBS presents remarkable new music documentary series. Read story.

Thursday, December 8, 2016

‘Goliath’ Is Must-See TV

Billy Bob Thornton stars as a down-and-out lawyer in this David E. Kelley series. Read story.

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

‘Atlanta’ Is an Intricate, Sly Dramedy

The show inhabits a helium-world version of Donald Glover’s Atlanta. Read story.

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Christopher Guest Helms New Film

Mockumentarian directs feature film comedy for Netflix. Read story.

Thursday, November 10, 2016

'Westworld': It’s the Scary Future

Guns and robots collide in HBO’s flagship series. Read story.

Thursday, November 3, 2016

NFL RedZone

Is broadcast football hearing the two-minute warning? Read story.

Thursday, October 20, 2016

‘Crisis in Six Scenes’ Is Well Worth Checking Out

This TV-sized entertainment has Woody Allen in full kvetch-patter. Read story.

Thursday, October 13, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: