WEATHER »

TOC

A Gift for Giving

Happily, ’tis the season for giving and for eating, which made November the perfect month to team up with John Dixon of Tri-County Produce for The Indy's first Grocery Giveaway. Read story.

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Never A Dull Moment

The fifth in her family to attend Westmont College — her parents met in a philosophy class — Sarah Sutherland is a writer. Read story.

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Dreams

“I loved Japan,” our art director, Ben Ciccati, said when he reappeared after a short absence, covered capably by his EditPro cohorts. Read story.

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Wild Thing

Where the mountain lions roam is where Lynn Goodman lives. Read story.

Thursday, November 10, 2016

Spooky Pookie

October came and went in a flash of orange. In the spirit of the season, The Indy teamed up with ASAP (Animal Shelter Assistance Program) to host our first Pumpkin Photo Contest. Read story.

Thursday, November 3, 2016

When the Dude's in Rome

Dennis Loyst is a cartographer by career, but the Santa Barbara resident also cofounded Surf Brewery, one of the best ale-makers anywhere (even if it is in Ventura!). Read story.

Thursday, October 27, 2016

Indubitably Daug-some

The pert and perky Dug and Dot Daug didn't come into the world with those sprightly ears and soft cuddly pelts. Read story.

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Tolkien About It

There's nothing like feeling dwarfed by trolls to transport a person to Middle-earth, as Diane Mooshoolzadeh discovered on a recent visit to the Shire. Read story.

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Roll Away

The Indy teamed up with Velo Pro Cyclery in September to roll out our first-ever Back-to-School Bike Giveaway. Read story.

Thursday, October 6, 2016

The Quiet Life

Brandi Webber's prior career as a cartographer is only the first surprising fact about this Indy sales rep. Read story.

Thursday, September 29, 2016

Mixology Mini-Magazine

This week, Matt Kettmann ditches his wine glass and picks up a lowball to explore Santa Barbara's growing craft bartending scene. Read story.

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Did He Inhale?

With the topic of this week's cover story diving into Proposition 64 and the potential legalization of recreational pot, we had to ask the writer the question. Read story.

Thursday, September 15, 2016

Danish Modern

One of Helene Laine's most useful possessions is her Public bicycle, which she rides for daily exercise and transportation to her advertising design desk at The Indy. Read story.

Thursday, September 8, 2016

Doing Good

Gail Arnold writes our Society Matters column in the real estate section and online. Read story.

Thursday, September 1, 2016

The Wild(fire) One

When Ray Ford writes about wildfire in Santa Barbara's backcountry, the landmarks he refers to don't come off a map. Read story.

Thursday, August 25, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: