Santa Barbara Foundation Announces 2015 Fleischmann-Floro-Spaulding Scholarship Recipients for Excellence in Academics and Community Service

Santa Barbara Foundation Announces 2015 Fleischmann-Floro-Spaulding Scholarship Recipients for Excellence in Academics and Community Service

June 2, 2015 – Forty eight students throughout Santa Barbara County were selected for the Santa Barbara Foundation’s 2015 Fleischmann-Floro-Spaulding Awards. On May 28, 2015, the awards were presented at a small reception for students and their families. “These young people are extraordinary. They have demonstrated they are willing to work to achieve their goals while also appreciating the importance of helping others in their community,” said Ron Gallo, president & CEO of the Santa Barbara Foundation. “I anticipate that we will hear more about these scholarship recipients and their great accomplishments in the future.”

In total, $127,900 was distributed to recipients this year. The Fleischmann-Floro-Spaulding awards recognize students in Santa Barbara County for academic excellence and dedication to community service. The seniors selected to receive these scholarships represent the top 1 percent of all high school students throughout the county.

Floro award recipients are selected from Santa Maria, Fleischmann recipients are selected from throughout the county with the top candidate in the Fleishmann pool receiving the Spaulding Award. High school students receiving a Fleischmann or Floro Award are given a $2,500 scholarship. The winner of the Spaulding Award receives an additional $1,000 scholarship.

These scholarships were made possible by Gwendolyn Mae Shelly Floro and Max Fleischmann, both of whom made substantial gifts in support of academic excellence and community service. These generous gifts increase the Santa Barbara Foundation’s ability to support academic achievement through scholarship awards.

The Santa Barbara Foundation is committed to supporting quality education throughout Santa Barbara County. Working in collaboration with many generous donors throughout the history of the foundation, thousands of local students have benefitted more than $40 million in scholarships from the Santa Barbara Foundation.

Award Recipients
Marie A. Aguinaldo, St. Joseph
Millicent Angulo, Righetti
Joseph O. Biggs, Valley Christian Academy
Destinee N. Clark, Orcutt Academy Charter
Madalynn A. Cross, Orcutt Academy Charter
Kevin D. Daily, Righetti
Kaitlyn A. Domingues, St. Joseph
Rebecca Drake, St. Joseph
Sara J. Fierros, Orcutt Academy Charter
Axelina S. Hallstrom Pioneer Valley
Lauren N. Hunt, Santa Maria
Hannah S. Hurd, Righetti
Shailynn M. Joseph, Righetti
Judith Lee, Righetti
Patricia Martinez Martinez, Pioneer Valley
Jonah S. Mau, Pioneer Valley
Brandon-Hao A. Nguyen, St. Joseph
Lashton R. Papworth, Orcutt Academy Charter
Yosduan A. Ramos, Righetti
Courtney L. Reyburn, Righetti
Brigid L. Rigali, St. Joseph
Jennifer M. Rios, Pioneer Valley
Samantha Rojas, Pioneer Valley
Sierra M. Sanchez, Righetti
Sarah K. Skidmore, Pioneer Valley
Jordan C. Tolentino, St. Joseph
Ryland J. Towne, Righetti
Victoria M. Valdez, Pioneer Valley

Chanel N. Diaz, Orcutt Academy Charter

Kalina M. Burns, Dos Pueblos
Katherine R., Carrillo-Castro Laguna Blanca
Nicolae Christoffersen, San Marcos
Rachaell Diaz, Santa Barbara
Connor Everman, San Marcos
Jake A. Garner, Santa Barbara
Hope M. Harrington, Cabrillo
Mary C. Hoeflinger, Bishop Garcia Diego
Colin M. Hyatt, Santa Barbara
Niranjanaa Jeeva, Dos Pueblos
Isabel Martinez, Dos Pueblos
Courtney D. Miller, Dos Pueblos
Kelly C. Robertson, San Marcos
Samuel M. Robertson, Anacapa
Emma C. Rosenberg, Santa Ynez Valley
Hannah C. Ross, Santa Barbara
Pablo Saleta, Dos Pueblos
Christopher J. Wagonhurst, Santa Barbara
Mikayla R. Werner, Santa Barbara

About the Santa Barbara Foundation
The Santa Barbara Foundation was established in 1928 to enrich the lives of the people of Santa Barbara County through philanthropy. As the largest community foundation in the county, and one of the largest sources of funding for area nonprofits and agencies, the foundation is committed to building philanthropy, strengthening the nonprofit sector and solving community problems.



Judy Taggart
Director of Communications and Marketing
(805) 880-9391

event calendar sponsored by:
Recent Comments