Twelve winning writers and twelve illustrators from around the globe—including Kary English of Summerland—will be honored during the 31st Annual L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards

Celebrities, Best-Selling Authors, Famous Illustrators to Fete
Newcomers at Festive Gala in Hollywood

HOLLYWOOD — Twelve winning writers and twelve illustrators from around the globe—including Kary English of Summerland—will be honored during the 31st Annual L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards at the famed Wilshire Ebell Theatre, on Sunday, April 12th, 2015 beginning at 6:00 pm.

This year also marks the 75th anniversary of the Golden Pen Award, a writing award created by Hubbard in 1940 in Ketchikan, Alaska, and the forerunner to the internationally acclaimed Writers of the Future Contest.

Kary English grew up in the snowy Midwest where she avoided siblings and frostbite by reading book after book in a warm corner behind a recliner chair. She blames her one and only high school detention on Douglas Adams, whose Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy made her laugh out loud while reading it behind her geometry textbook.

Today, Kary still spends most of her time with her head in the clouds and her nose in a book. To the great relief of her parents, she seems to be making a living at it. Kary lives on the West Coast with a spouse, a teenager, and a polydactyl feline overlord. She is working on a planetary fantasy series (available in late 2015) and a middle grade fantasy saga about a little girl and an orange kitten.

A student of New York Times bestsellers David Farland and Tracy Hickman, Kary aspires to make her own work detentionworthy. Her fiction has appeared in Daily Science Fiction, the Grantville Gazette and Galaxy’s Edge.

The highlight of the ceremony will be the announcement of the year’s two Grand Prize winners who will each receive $5,000. Quarterly winners also receive cash prizes from $1,000 to $500. Their winning stories and illustrations will appear in the annual anthology L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers and Illustrators of the Future, volume 31 (Galaxy Press, May 2015).

Participating in the ceremony will be best-selling authors Kevin J. Anderson (Dune prequels), Orson Scott Card (Ender’s Game), Larry Niven (Ringworld), Jerry Pournelle (A Mote in God’s Eye), Tim Powers (On Stranger Tides, which Pirates of the Caribbean IV was based on) and Robert Sawyer, referred to as Canada’s Dean of Science Fiction; as well as award winning artists Cliff Nielsen (Narnia book covers), Larry Elmore (Dungeons & Dragons book covers), Dave Dorman (Star Wars artwork), who will all serve as presenters.

Throughout the Contests’ 31-year history, over 700 writers and illustrators have been recognized as winners. “What’s amazing to me is that a good 60 to 70% of winners go on to successful careers,” says New York Times’ best-selling author Anderson (Dune prequels, Seven Suns series). “You could call it ‘The American Idol’ for writers—long before there ever was such a show.”

The Writers of the Future writing contest ( was initiated by L. Ron Hubbard in 1983 to provide a means for aspiring writers to get that much-needed break. Due to the success of the Writing Contest, the companion Illustrators of the Future Contest was created in 1988.

The writing contest was created by L. Ron Hubbard to provide “a means for new and budding writers to have a chance for their creative efforts to be seen and acknowledged.” Based on its success, its sister contest, Illustrators of the Future was created five years later to provide that same opportunity for the aspiring artist.

The intensive mentoring process has proven very successful. The 348 past winners of the Writing Contest have published 838 novels and nearly 4,000 short stories. They have produced 27 New York Times bestsellers and their works have sold over 50 million copies.

The 276 past winners of the Illustrating Contest have produced over 4,500 illustrations, 356 comic books, graced 594 books and albums with their art and visually contributed to 36 TV shows and 46 major movies.

For more information and to see the awards ceremony online, go to


Mr. Carmen Bartolo Media Relations Galaxy Press 323.574.5916

event calendar sponsored by:
Recent Comments