Santa Barbara Elks Lodge #613 Holds Local High School Student Recognition Awards Ceremony

SANTA BARBARA, CA – May 2, 2017 – The Santa Barbara Elks Lodge #613 celebrated students from local schools with a Student Recognition Awards Ceremony, held May 2, 2017, at 6:30 p.m. The Presentation of Colors, presented by the Ronald Reagan Marine Corp League, Detachment 597, opened the event. Family, friends, and supporting Elks attended the dinner and ceremony.
The awards were given out for several categories:
Americanism Essay Contest Winners: The contest was held for local Middle School students. The participants were asked to write an Essay on the Question “Why Is It Important To Vote”? Two 1st and 2nd place categories were awarded Certificates of Recognition:t Erika Nares won the 1st Place for the 5th & 6th Grade Category & Angela Solodkin won the 2nd place for the 5th and 6th Grade Category. Alexa Nares won 1st place for the 7th & 8th Grade Category and Sierra Rodrigues won 2nd place for the 7th and 8th Grade Category.
Student of the Month $1,000 Scholarships: Five Scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each were awarded to the outstanding “Student of the Month”, based on the students’ Academics, Community Service, and Leadership abilities. The scholarship winners were chosen from the group of the past school year’s previously recognized Student of the Month. Out of the pool
- M O R E -
of recognized Student’s of the Month, (nominated each month by the high school counselors) one scholarship winner was chosen from each of the five high schools.
Winners for the “Student of the Month” $1,000 Scholarships are: Amanda Hayes, from San Marcos High School, Samuel Traux from Carpentaria High School, Antonio Chamu from Dos Pueblos High School, Grace Quittner, from Bishop Diego High School, and Kyle Cockell from Santa Barbara High School.
Eagle Scout Rank earned by six local Boy Scouts: Brigadier General, Retired, Frederick Lopez hosted an Eagle Scout Court of Honor to award six Boy Scouts from Los Padres Council Troops #4 and #37, the distinguished Eagle Scout Award, which is the highest rank a Boy Scout can achieve. The new Eagle Scouts are Travis Foster, Ryan Foster, Nico Mackie, Caleb Jones, Artem Cunningham and Mathew Greathouse. Over the past 100 years of Scouting, there have been 2 million Eagle Scouts. Currently 4 out of every 100 boys who join the Boy Scouts become an Eagle Scout. Over the years many young boys have joined Troop 4 and 37. Only have been awarded the rank of Eagle Scout.
Basketball “Hoop Shoot” Free Throw State Winners: Dave Bianchi, “Hoop Shoot” Chairman, will award two local students the Hoop Shoot Free Throw State Winners for the 2017 year. Carly Letendre, age 9, is a Repeat California and Hawaii Champion for her age group, winning both in 2016 & 2017. Gabriel Cordero, age 8, is the current California and Hawaii champion for his age group. To win the State Championship, both winners also won the local and district championships for their age group. They also participated in the Regional Hoop Shoot contest, held in February, 2017, in Las Vegas, NV. Letendre came in second in that completion.
- M O R E -
The Elks Hoop Shoot Free Throw contest has opened up the exciting world of Free Throw shooting to more than 91 million young boys and girls in the last 30 years. These talented youngsters, ages 8 – 13, are part of the largest coeducational sports activity in the country, and the national championship, is held each year. For more information call Dave Bianchi at 805-964-4208 or email him at


Teri Conrad, PR Rep, 805-895-6040 Email:

event calendar sponsored by:
Recent Comments