WEATHER »

Theater

Life Is a ‘Cabaret’

UCSB’s Theater and Dance Department presents the iconic musical. Read story.

Monday, May 21, 2018

‘Les Miserables’ at the Lobero

Santa Barbara Youth Ensemble Theatre Presents ‘Les Mis.’ Read story.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Jane Anderson Revises Her 1990 Play ‘The Baby Dance’ to Disappointing Results

Director Jenny Sullivan’s production features several strong performances, but even good acting can only take us so far. Read story.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Audra McDonald Comes to the Granada

Celebrated chanteuse will sing show tunes and music from the silver screen at her Santa Barbara appearance. Read story.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

‘Love, Loss, and What I Wore’ at the Lobero

An All-Star Cast Performs to Benefit Antioch’s Scholarship Fund Read story.

Thursday, May 3, 2018

George Christie’s ‘Outlaw’

Former Hells Angel Does Solo Show Read story.

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

‘The Baby Dance: Mixed’

Jane Anderson’s 1990s adoption drama updated Read story.

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

‘Into the Woods’ at San Marcos High

Theater students take on Sondheim’s fairy-tale musical. Read story.

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

The 42nd Humana Festival of New American Plays

A year of redemption where ‘empathy is a bird’ Read story.

Friday, April 20, 2018

The Theatre Group at SBCC’s ‘Crimes of the Heart’

Beth Henley’s 1981 Pulitzer Prize–winning play feels dated. Read story.

Thursday, April 19, 2018

ETC Scores Hit with ‘The Invisible Hand’

Ayad Akhtar revives the political thriller, a genre that has been mostly absent from the stage. Read story.

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

ETC Presents ‘The Invisible Hand’

Capitalism meets religious extremism in Ayad Akhtar’s kidnapping thriller. Read story.

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Timely Tales from Shakespeare and Shaw

New York City–based Bedlam brings ‘Saint Joan’ and ‘Hamlet’ to UCSB April 19-20. Read story.

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

‘Crimes of the Heart’ Comes to Santa Barbara

The Theatre Group at SBCC presents the Pulitzer Prize–winning drama, April 11-28. Read story.

Wednesday, April 4, 2018

‘American Idiot’ Wields the Emotional Power Tools of Rock

Out of the Box presents the Grammy-winning Green Day musical April 6-15. Read story.

Thursday, March 29, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: