WEATHER »

Voices

Public Comment and the Wall

The Supreme Court settled the right to speak freely and openly about 40 years ago. Read story.

Friday, August 17, 2018

When Is Parking Trespassing?

For some months last year the trailhead parking lot for Hot Springs Trail in Montecito was closed in the evenings. Read story.

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

A Political Season for Homelessness

'The homeless' are from every community, and each has a legal, if not moral, duty to help alleviate the problem. Read story.

Monday, August 13, 2018

City Council Should Stop Clutching at Straws

The current “plastic straw debate” is an example of the Santa Barbara City Council's inability to deal with priority problems. Read story.

Thursday, August 9, 2018

Kavanaugh Should Withdraw

Statements prejudging presidential lawbreaking disqualify him. Read story.

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

It’s Time We Adapt to Wildfire

Science and lessons learned from past fires can help us protect our communities from wildfire. Read story.

Saturday, August 4, 2018

Embracing Our Chosen Families

To this day, society has very little patience for people who are left-handed, let alone differently gendered. Read story.

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Nuclear Hypocrisy

Our nation insanely believes the best way to prevent the use of nuclear weapons is to assure they are ever more effective. Read story.

Tuesday, July 31, 2018

Be Careful What You Wish For

A striking thing about Historic Landmarks meetings is some architect's audacity in presenting unacceptable designs in the face of known requirements. Read story.

Monday, July 30, 2018

La Casa de la Raza Disagrees

Board and staff send an update on the Bankruptcy Court's July 17 decision. Read story.

Saturday, July 28, 2018

Wanted: Climate Solutions

Senate Bill 100 requires 100 percent renewable and zero carbon electricity by 2045, an achievable goal. Read story.

Thursday, July 26, 2018

It’s About Time

Labor board tells 'News-Press' owner to pay $2.2 million after cheating and mistreating employees. Read story.

Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Calls for Impeachment

Watching the Trump-Putin summit, it's hard not to think about Napoleon having to retreat from Moscow in November 1812. Read story.

Saturday, July 21, 2018

Health Care and a Health Scare

If you are not wealthy, an elected official, work for a big business or government agency, then you can’t afford health care in the United States. Read story.

Thursday, July 19, 2018

Not as Stormy as Stormy Daniels

But losing environmental protections is much more dangerous. Read story.

Tuesday, July 17, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: