WEATHER »

Voices

Guns and Mass Shootings

The U.S. has had nearly as many mass shootings as there have been days in 2018. Read story.

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

A Soldier's Letter Home

My grandfather, a Canadian by birth and the child of Irish/Scottish immigrants, volunteered for the Canadian Expeditionary Forces in May 1915. Read story.

Sunday, November 11, 2018

The Great War at Franceschi House

Two medallions at Franceschi House are dedicated to the Great War. Read story.

Saturday, November 10, 2018

Ignorance Is Danger

The responsibility for every citizen to be responsible, active in their democracy, and vote has not yet melted from our grasp. Read story.

Sunday, November 4, 2018

Facing Reality

'Signs of Suicide' empowers teens with understanding. Read story.

Thursday, November 1, 2018

My Record on Goleta Growth

On Bishop Ranch and Measure G2012. Read story.

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Spoonfuls of Greens Help the Medicine Go Down

Food as medicine and plants for healing at the Ojai Herbal Symposium on November 16 to 18. Read story.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Beating Swords into Plowshares

Celebrating the purchase of the National Guard Armory for Santa Barbara schoolchildren. Read story.

Sunday, October 28, 2018

Revitalize This

Saying no to State Street interventions. Read story.

Thursday, October 25, 2018

Rent Control and Prop. 10: Pros and Cons

The debate between the housing shortage and market forces. Read story.

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Vote Montecito Water Security Team

It’s ironic that The Independent is dumping on an environmental slate. Read story.

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Paving a New Road to Energy Capacity

Santa Barbara County and its power grid partners must commit to all renewables for the future. Read story.

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Earth, Wind, Fire, and Us

Everyone engaged on the front lines of the current debate about how to deal with wildfire has some of the answers. Read story.

Sunday, October 21, 2018

Unnerved

But not because my son might be falsely accused of rape. Read story.

Thursday, October 18, 2018

Montecito Deserves Better

The Montecito Water Security Team hopes to capture every drop of water this side of the mountain through desal, recycling, groundwater management, and conservation. Read story.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: