WEATHER »

Sports - Features

Legalized Gambling, Triple Crowns, and Sure Things

On sports wagers, sentimental horses, and why to bet on Justify in the Preakness Stakes. Read story.

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Egan Bernal Conquers Gibraltar Road

Colombian kid riding for Team Sky wins Santa Barbara’s Stage 2 of the Amgen Tour. Read story.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Amgen Tour Tackles Gibraltar Road 


Pro cyclists to end Stage 2 with seven-mile, 3,100-foot climb on May 14. Read story.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Clean Baseball Between Dos Pueblos and Santa Barbara High

Report from great series last week; plus college baseball, tennis, track, and more. Read story.

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Chia the Corolla

Francisco “Chia” Santana goes from Primo Boxing to fighting against the world’s best. Read story.

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Four Runners Break Four-Minute Mile

Plus, marathon record broken, Special Olympics coming, and Hoop Star moves Read story.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Breaking the Four-Minute Mile

SBCC’s La Playa Stadium hosts four elite running races Friday night. Read story.

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Runners Rule at The Red Piano Bar

Guest bartenders serve up fundraiser; plus basketball awards and Gaucho Hall of Fame. Read story.

Wednesday, April 4, 2018

Santa Barbara Grunion Rugby Turns 40

Plus the joy of hustling, the 10 best Dodgers, Coach James Ranta’s legacy, and the triathlon on hiatus. Read story.

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Gaucho Baseball Is Struggling

Plus March Madness report, exodus of UCSB women’s basketballers, surfing, and rugby. Read story.

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Wild Winter of Winning Ends Mostly in Losses

Santa Barbara’s high school and college teams did better than ever, but struggled at very end. Read story.

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

January Sadness to March Madness

How Santa Barbara teams progressed with poise and purpose this season. Read story.

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Royals Win Water Polo Championship

San Marcos High girls’ team defeats Dos Pueblos; boys’ basketball team aims for title too. Read story.

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

San Marcos Girls Beat Dos Pueblos in Water Polo

Royals pull out victory over Chargers to win CIF title Saturday night. Read story.

Monday, February 26, 2018

Soccer Stars Converge at Harder Stadium

Former Gauchos, now pros on L.A. Galaxy, energize UCSB’s College Cup hopes. Read story.

Wednesday, February 21, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: