WEATHER »

independent.com/sbcc

Noise Ordinance Introduced

City Council responds to complaints from City College neighbors. Read story.

Thursday, January 28, 2016

‘Get Focused, Stay Focused’ Hosts Conference at SBCC

Former City College Dean presents high school career planning program to educators. Read story.

Friday, January 8, 2016

Mesa Street Parking Reserved for Residents

SBCC students were monopolizing the spots. Read story.

Thursday, December 10, 2015

SBCC Ranks High in UC Transfers

Ranked #6 out of 113 community colleges statewide. Read story.

Thursday, December 10, 2015

Tempest in a Teepee at SBCC

Art project removed after complaints from Native American students. Read story.

Monday, March 16, 2015

HS Freshmen Encouraged to Plan for College, Careers

'Get Focused...Stay Focused' program puts kids on tracks to success early on. Read story.

Monday, January 12, 2015

City College Mending Fences with Neighbors?

Looks to Cal Poly for strategies to dealing with unruly students. Read story.

Thursday, November 13, 2014

S.B. School District Endorses Measure S

In a somewhat unprecedented move, the Santa Barbara Unified School District board unanimously endorsed Measure S, the $288 million Santa Barbara City College facilities bond. Read story.

Thursday, October 16, 2014

City College's Sprawling Impact

Democrats flip-flop for Measure S. Read story.

Thursday, October 9, 2014

SBCC Wins Top Award for Serving Latino Students

Express to Success recognized by national organization Excelencia in Education. Read story.

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Measure S: The $288 Million Question

Supporters rally for city college construction, but who will benefit? Read story.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Skewed Distribution in Transfers to UC

A recent UC report outlines efforts to increase community college transfers. Read story.

Monday, July 7, 2014

SBCC Bond Measure Has Wide Support

Public survey shows positive responses; vast majority hold favorable view of college. Read story.

Monday, May 12, 2014

Sports Highlights: May 7-18

SBCC sweeps its way into another baseball series at Pershing Park. UCSB has shot at softball title. Read story.

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Sports Highlights: May 2-17

College baseball teams in serious series. Roller-derby bout Saturday at the Showgrounds. Read story.

Friday, May 2, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: