WEATHER »

independent.com/UCSB

UCSB Ranked 15th in Nation

UCSB ranked 15th among national universities in an annual listing published 8/25 in the Washington Monthly. B Read story.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Sports Highlights: Aug. 22-31

UCSB hosts Westmont in men's soccer. AYSO clinic Sunday. Read story.

Friday, August 22, 2014

UCSB Number 3

School's party title slips in 2014 Princeton Review rankings. Read story.

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

First UCSB PhD in Feminist Studies

Carly Thomsen produced an award-winning dissertation and is heading to Texas for a post-doc appointment. Read story.

Monday, July 7, 2014

Rampage Victim Walks During UCSB Graduation

Thunderous applause greets Keith Cheung as he gets diploma on Saturday. Read story.

Monday, June 16, 2014

UCSB Collaborates with Goleta Water District

Communities come together to present lecture series on water shortages. Read story.

Saturday, May 24, 2014

Details Released in UCSB Student's Death

Sierra Markee-Winkler was found May 4 on an Isla Vista beach. Read story.

Originally published 12:45 p.m., May 13, 2014
Updated 9:00 a.m., May 14, 2014

Welcome to the Party, Chancellor Yang

Top scholars have their choice of schools to attend; will UCSB remain on their list after Deltopia 2014? Read story.

Friday, May 9, 2014

Crime on Campus

Feds shine light on college rapes; official visits UCSB. Read story.

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Sports Highlights: May 2-17

College baseball teams in serious series. Roller-derby bout Saturday at the Showgrounds. Read story.

Friday, May 2, 2014

Student Senate Continues Discourse on UC Investments

Bill passed to establish morality requirements for all investments. Read story.

Thursday, May 1, 2014

UCSB Votes Down Divestment from Israel

Student Senate votes against resolution calling for divestment at 4 a.m. after nine-hour open forum. Read story.

Saturday, April 26, 2014

UCSB Leads Way in Green Efforts

Campus touts long-water water conservation efforts amid drought. Read story.

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Sports Highlights: April 24-May 11

Big weekend for college baseball, Special Olympics, and high school track. Read story.

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Sports Highlights: April 14-19

Volleyball clash at San Marcos precedes Karch Kiraly Tournament. UCSB spikers host playoff against UCLA. Read story.

Monday, April 14, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: