WEATHER »

independent.com/UCSB

UC System Working to Become Energy-Neutral

Officials from all 10 campuses met at UCSB to study new approaches. Read story.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

UCSB Scientist Wins $3.5 Million Grant

Biomedical scientist Jamey Marth will use the funds to study sepsis. Read story.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

UC Delays Start Date for Religious Holiday

Fall quarter begins October 2 for UCSB. Read story.

Friday, September 19, 2014

UCSB Named 10th Best Public National University

UCSB continues to live up to its “work hard, play hard” reputation, earning prestige this week for its academics after receiving high rankings for its party scene last month. Read story.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

UCSB Ranked 15th in Nation

UCSB ranked 15th among national universities in an annual listing published 8/25 in the Washington Monthly. B Read story.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Sports Highlights: Aug. 22-31

UCSB hosts Westmont in men's soccer. AYSO clinic Sunday. Read story.

Friday, August 22, 2014

UCSB Number 3

School's party title slips in 2014 Princeton Review rankings. Read story.

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

First UCSB PhD in Feminist Studies

Carly Thomsen produced an award-winning dissertation and is heading to Texas for a post-doc appointment. Read story.

Monday, July 7, 2014

Rampage Victim Walks During UCSB Graduation

Thunderous applause greets Keith Cheung as he gets diploma on Saturday. Read story.

Monday, June 16, 2014

UCSB Collaborates with Goleta Water District

Communities come together to present lecture series on water shortages. Read story.

Saturday, May 24, 2014

Details Released in UCSB Student's Death

Sierra Markee-Winkler was found May 4 on an Isla Vista beach. Read story.

Originally published 12:45 p.m., May 13, 2014
Updated 9:00 a.m., May 14, 2014

Welcome to the Party, Chancellor Yang

Top scholars have their choice of schools to attend; will UCSB remain on their list after Deltopia 2014? Read story.

Friday, May 9, 2014

Crime on Campus

Feds shine light on college rapes; official visits UCSB. Read story.

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Sports Highlights: May 2-17

College baseball teams in serious series. Roller-derby bout Saturday at the Showgrounds. Read story.

Friday, May 2, 2014

Student Senate Continues Discourse on UC Investments

Bill passed to establish morality requirements for all investments. Read story.

Thursday, May 1, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: