WEATHER »

Angry Poodle

Tax Cuts for Christmas: Who Needs the Grinch?

The strange, shocking silence of Justin Fareed on the Republican Congress’s feed-the-rich tax bill. Read story.

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Hotel Californian Buffalos Santa Barbara’s Council

Will Hotel Californian’s Astroturf save brides in high heels or just poison the ocean? Read story.

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Mystery and History Behind Mayoral Race

Digging into Cathy Murillo’s victory, red hats, Edmund O. Hanson, and the Jerry Roberts poll Read story.

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Santa Barbara Mayoral Watch: The Russian Connection

The Russians are coming to the Santa Barbara mayoral race. Read story.

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Saving Santa Barbara from Its Saviors Yet Again

Is Angel Martinez the right straitjacket for Santa Barbara retail madness? Read story.

Thursday, October 26, 2017

Sexual Predator Weinstein Faces No Charges in Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara winery owner Thomas J. Barrack Jr. is in negotiations to buy sexual predator Harvey Weinstein’s business empire. Read story.

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Do You Wanna Arm Wrestle?

A slew of overqualified municipal candidates overwhelms this old dog. Read story.

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Guns and Money in Mandalay

The question isn’t why Stephen Paddock did what he did; it is how. Read story.

Thursday, October 5, 2017

Trump Gets Foot in Mouth over Football — Again

Why is kneeling less respectful than standing? Read story.

Thursday, September 28, 2017

Santa Barbara’s Open Season on Panhandlers

Santa Barbara candidates attack the aggressive homeless as a way of ending State Street woes. Read story.

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Ending DACA to MAGA Is CACA

Dreamers, who by definition work hard and stay out of trouble, are among the best of our best. Read story.

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Why the Arpaio Pardon Is Really Cause for Hope in Disguise

Trump can dismiss federal charges, but he can’t get around state law. Read story.

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Tiki Torches, Bedsheets, and ‘Very Fine People’ on Both Sides

UCSB prof pens Yale letter demanding treasury czar resign. Read story.

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Trump and Kim Jong Un Walk into a Bar …

Vandenberg is at the center of the U.S. and North Korea’s game of nuclear chicken. Read story.

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Simmering Tensions Roil Old Spanish Days

There ain’t no unity in the community. Read story.

Wednesday, August 2, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: