WEATHER »

independent.com/sbcc

Accreditation Task Force to Visit City College

The City College Board of Trustees will take questions on Thursday from the six-member Accreditation Task Force that President Lori Gaskin formed this summer. Read story.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

City College Shaken Up, Shaken Down

School faces job cuts, declining enrollments, and reorganization. Read story.

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Memorial Service Planned for SBCC Professor

SBCC will hold a memorial service for biology professor Judy Meyer on Friday, September 14 at 1 p.m. at the Winslow Maxwell Overlook. Read story.

Thursday, September 6, 2012

SBCC Ranked in Country's Top Ten Community College List

For the second year in a row, SBCC has been named one of the top 10 community colleges in the country by the Aspen Institute College Excellence Award Program. Read story.

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Changes Brew for City College Adult Ed

The school's board of trustees is set to vote on a major reorganization at their September 27 meeting. Read story.

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

City College to Offer Construction Technology Degrees

SBCC gained approval this week to offer a degree in Construction Technology. Read story.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Dr. Lori Gaskin on Her First Two Weeks at SBCC

The new school president talks about budget shortfalls and an accreditation warning. Read story.

Saturday, July 21, 2012

SBCC Parolee Class Wins Award

It doesn't take a Warren Buffett to quickly realize that it is less expensive for California to educate its citizens rather than imprison them. Read story.

Thursday, July 5, 2012

SBCC Cuts Jail Class, Mulls Adult Ed’s Future

Non-credit enrichment courses could be privately funded by the end of next year. Read story.

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

City College Approves New President's Contract

SBCC’s new president has officially been hired as the school's board last Thursday approved a three-year contract for Lori Gaskin, who comes from West Valley College in Saratoga, California. Read story.

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Hug Me, I’m a President

Lori Gaskin will be City College’s new leader. Read story.

Thursday, May 3, 2012

School's NOT Out for Summer

City college president withdraws idea of canceling summer session classes. Read story.

Thursday, April 26, 2012

City College on Warning

Despite sanctions, school looks to future. Read story.

Thursday, April 5, 2012

Budget Cuts Shrink SBCC Enrollment

Due to chronic statewide budget cuts dating back to 2008, Santa Barbara City College was forced to drop 348 individual classes. Read story.

Thursday, March 29, 2012

SBCC Trustees Chided

Accrediting Commission issues critical letter. Read story.

Friday, February 17, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: