WEATHER »

independent.com/sbcc

Changes Brew for City College Adult Ed

The school's board of trustees is set to vote on a major reorganization at their September 27 meeting. Read story.

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

City College to Offer Construction Technology Degrees

SBCC gained approval this week to offer a degree in Construction Technology. Read story.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Dr. Lori Gaskin on Her First Two Weeks at SBCC

The new school president talks about budget shortfalls and an accreditation warning. Read story.

Saturday, July 21, 2012

SBCC Parolee Class Wins Award

It doesn't take a Warren Buffett to quickly realize that it is less expensive for California to educate its citizens rather than imprison them. Read story.

Thursday, July 5, 2012

SBCC Cuts Jail Class, Mulls Adult Ed’s Future

Non-credit enrichment courses could be privately funded by the end of next year. Read story.

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

City College Approves New President's Contract

SBCC’s new president has officially been hired as the school's board last Thursday approved a three-year contract for Lori Gaskin, who comes from West Valley College in Saratoga, California. Read story.

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Hug Me, I’m a President

Lori Gaskin will be City College’s new leader. Read story.

Thursday, May 3, 2012

School's NOT Out for Summer

City college president withdraws idea of canceling summer session classes. Read story.

Thursday, April 26, 2012

City College on Warning

Despite sanctions, school looks to future. Read story.

Thursday, April 5, 2012

Budget Cuts Shrink SBCC Enrollment

Due to chronic statewide budget cuts dating back to 2008, Santa Barbara City College was forced to drop 348 individual classes. Read story.

Thursday, March 29, 2012

SBCC Trustees Chided

Accrediting Commission issues critical letter. Read story.

Friday, February 17, 2012

Accrediting Commission Adjudicates SBCC

But the college will not reveal the findings. Read story.

Friday, February 10, 2012

New Voter Districts for SBCC Trustee Elections

The SBCC Board of Trustees has approved new voter districts for future trustee elections. Read story.

Thursday, December 22, 2011

SBCC Makes Top 10 in National Awards Ceremony

Santa Barbara City College's acting president, Dr. Jack Friedlander, traveled to Washington, D.C., this week for the Aspen Institute's long-awaited College Excellence awards ceremony. Read story.

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Donation Lets SBCC Library Expand Services, Hours

A $43,000 donation from the Luria Foundation has enabled the SBCC library to expand its hours and hire a resources specialist. Read story.

Thursday, December 8, 2011
event calendar sponsored by: