WEATHER »

independent.com/sbcc

SBCC Student Entrepreneurs Vie for Seed Capital

On 12/2 student entrepreneurs at SBCC will get the chance to pitch their ideas to a panel of investors who will award one winning venture $1,000 in seed capital. Read story.

Thursday, December 1, 2011

State Accrediting Commission Visits City College

A three-person team from the state’s Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges traveled to Santa Barbara City College earlier this month as part of a follow-up visit in the wake of allegations levied against the school this past summer concerning the behavior of SBCC’s Board of Trustees. Read story.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

SBCC Student Sues School Over Hot Coffee

A Santa Barbara City College student is able to move ahead with a lawsuit that includes an allegation against her school. Read story.

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

SBCC Forms Continuing Education Task Force

Acting Santa Barbara City College President Jack Friedlander recently announced the formation of a stakeholder task force charged with ensuring the ongoing success of the school's Continuing Education program. Read story.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Grant Glory for SBCC

Receives largest federal grant in school history. Read story.

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Week in Sports and Fall Events

UCSB soccer team to face Big East foes after successful road trip. Read story.

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Friedlander Officially Named SBCC's Interim President

Trustees officially name Friedlander the acting interim president. Read story.

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Leadership Change at SBCC

A cash-filled conclusion as departing Serban shown the door. Read story.

Thursday, August 4, 2011

Serban Placed on Leave of Absence

SBCC showdown results in embattled president’s departure. Read story.

Friday, July 29, 2011

SBCC Announces Scholarships for Continuing Ed

A direct result of the fallout from budget cuts and previously free class offerings being converted to fee-based, Santa Barbara City College announced a scholarship program this fall semester for select Continuing Education offerings. Read story.

Thursday, July 21, 2011

City College Gets a Budget…Sort Of

Trustees adopt a tentative budget as Serban's job review drama continues. Read story.

Sunday, June 12, 2011

Broken Budgets and Development Dreams


State financial woes imperil Measure V plans at City College. Read story.

Monday, June 6, 2011

A Campus Divided

Opinions split over SBCC President Andreea Serban and budget cuts coming down the pipes. Read story.

Friday, May 27, 2011

Serban Evaluation Update

Talks still ongoing, nearly 10 hours and counting. Read story.

Thursday, May 26, 2011

Extra Time Needed for Serban's Evaluation

Speakers both praise and criticize City College president during public comment period. Read story.

Tuesday, May 24, 2011
event calendar sponsored by: