14th Annual Mayor’s Awards Honoring Businesses Dedicated to Employing People with Disabilities

Contact Details:

Website: View Website

Social Media:

**Events may have been canceled or postponed. Please contact the venue to confirm the event.

Date & Time

Wed, Oct 23 7:00 AM - 9:00 AM

Address (map)

100 E. Carrillo Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Venue (website)

Carrillo Recreation Center

14th Annual Mayor’s Awards – Breakfast with the Mayor Honoring Businesses for Facilitating Employment for those with Disabilities


Mayor Cathy Murillo

Dani Anderson, Executive Director, Independent Living Resource Center


NON-PROFIT AWARD: Santa Barbara Zoo

The Non-Profit Award will be presented to an organization that embraces the spirit of inclusion and accessibility.  This year’s award goes to the Santa Barbara Zoo for becoming the first zoo on the West Coast to become a Certified Autism Center. J.J. McLeod, Education Manager, will accept the award.


The Award for Outstanding Effort goes to a business that goes above and beyond to support people with disabilities. This year’s award goes to the Buena Tool Company for providing training and employment opportunities to a student worker. Owner Tom Good will accept the award.


The Employment / Accommodation Award goes to an employer who reflects the spirit of the Americans with Disabilities Act in employment practices. This year’s award goes to KARL STORZ Imaging for customizing a position to align with the strengths of a job candidate.  Miles Hartfeld, President & General Manager and Rick Spitzer, Director of Facilities & Technical Services will accept the award.

DESIGN/ACCESSIBILITY AWARD: Kruger Bensen Ziemer Architects

The Design/Accessibility Award will be presented to a person or entity that has developed innovative and creative solutions for accessible structures, buildings or services, or provided accommodations to create equal and aesthetic access.  This year’s award goes to Kruger Bensen Ziemer Architects for its accessible design contributions to the community. Joe Wilcox, Principal Architect, and Mat Gradias, Associate Architect, will accept the award.




Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.