Marcia Burtt Gallery: Arboreal Exhibition

Date & Time

Fri, Jan 17 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sat, Jan 18 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sun, Jan 19 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Thu, Jan 23 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Fri, Jan 24 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sat, Jan 25 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sun, Jan 26 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Thu, Jan 30 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Fri, Jan 31 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sat, Feb 01 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sun, Feb 02 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Thu, Feb 06 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Fri, Feb 07 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sat, Feb 08 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sun, Feb 09 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Thu, Feb 13 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Fri, Feb 14 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sat, Feb 15 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sun, Feb 16 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Thu, Feb 20 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Fri, Feb 21 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sat, Feb 22 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sun, Feb 23 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Thu, Feb 27 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Fri, Feb 28 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sat, Feb 29 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sun, Mar 01 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Thu, Mar 05 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Fri, Mar 06 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sat, Mar 07 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sun, Mar 08 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Thu, Mar 12 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Fri, Mar 13 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sat, Mar 14 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Sun, Mar 15 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Address (map)

517 Laguna St., Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Venue (website)

Marcia Burtt Gallery

Records of history and hope for the future of our planet, trees are also a source of inspiration for our Gallery artists.

Drawings of bare trees composed of delicate lines hang on our gallery wall next to works composed of washes, tendrils, and strips of paint that form full foliage canopies. When featured alone, a single tree becomes an intimate portrait. Gathered in forests, copses, and on ridge lines, trees form tableaux vivants that satisfy our desire to anthropomorphize.

Tree trunks are nature’s vertical stripes: painters use them to break up a canvas or frame a scene. Fading into the distance, they pierce the sky. Their rhythm upholds the canopy creating an irregular horizon that moves to a distant vanishing point. Trees are an invitation to abstraction, allowing our artists to visualize alien forms in their scraggly limbs and leaf patterns.

For our Gallery landscape painters, whether realist or tending toward decoration or abstraction, trees supply creative oxygen.

Login

Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.