Ojai Playwrights Conference New Works Festival

**Events may have been canceled or postponed. Please contact the venue to confirm the event.

Date & Time

Thu, Aug 05 7:00 PM - 12:00 AM

Fri, Aug 06 7:00 PM - 12:00 AM

Sat, Aug 07 7:00 PM - 12:00 AM

Sun, Aug 08 7:00 PM - 12:00 AM

Thu, Aug 12 7:00 PM - 12:00 AM

Fri, Aug 13 7:00 PM - 12:00 AM

Sat, Aug 14 7:00 PM - 12:00 AM

Address (map)

Online

Venue (website)

Online

Workshop performances of eight New Works Festival plays will be streamed at scheduled times August 5 through 15, 2021, over the two weekends, Thursday through Sunday.

“The plays we are developing for 2021 are examining our extraordinary and challenging historical moment,” states Artistic Director/Producer Robert Egan. “Our OPC team is tremendously excited with the playwrights in this year’s programming. They are a powerful collection of the most imaginative, engaging, and committed writers today. They are the present and the future of American theatre. Their work will ignite an invaluable pipeline of creativity for theatre communities across the country.”

Weekend One: “The Ants” by Ramiz Monsef on Thursday, August 5; “Good Enemy” by Yilong Liu on Friday, August 6; “Diversity” by A. Zell Williams on Saturday, August 7; “Support” by Elizabeth Irwin on Sunday, August 8.

Weekend Two: “Corsicana” by Will Arbery on Thursday, August 12; “tiny father” by Mike Lew on Friday, August 13; “Regretfully, So the Birds Are” by Julia Izumi on Saturday, August 14; “Hang Time” by Zora Howard on Sunday, August 15.

Full festival passes for all eight plays are $200. Weekend passes are $100 (four plays on the same weekend), and single performance tickets are $25 (limited availability). Each play will be presented twice, at 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. PT (7 p.m. and 10 p.m. ET). To purchase, go to https://www.ojaiplays.org

Login

Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.